RSS

Pony Stories: The List

05 Mar

I finally got around to doing something I’ve been thinking about doing for a while now. Invent the concept of the list! It’s a series of items in a vertical row down a page, or perhaps in a horizontal row, useful for keeping track of things.

Wait, that’s probably not what I meant. Oh, right! Taking the lead from the predecessor of pony fan fiction reviews, the efficient and professional-looking One Man’s Pony Ramblings, I decided to build a list sorted by 5-star rating. It’s just basic list now. I’m planning on going through and adding links to all my reviews and where I found the stories, but that will be a much longer project.

You may find it here. Or simply near the top of the blog by clicking on the Pony Fan Fiction tab/label between My Stories and Spelljammer. Or simply click the link at the end of this sentence here.

This is a really rough sort. It is also incredibly subjective with each rating is a mix of quality and my own preference of subject/theme/etc. Probably best not to read too much in this particular ranking system I’m using mostly to break up a giant list of titles. As you’ll see below my personal preference might move a story up or down several places regardless of quality. Also the list doesn’t include stories I started but didn’t finish. At least I think it doesn’t.

Further proof of how flimsy this sort is, while compiling this list I found several ratings I disagreed with, and I’m the one that rated them. Like at least a dozen stories that I thought I was crazy for putting too high or too low on the 1-5 scale. Decided not to mess with it though.

Also, one last note. I had to pretty much copy/paste this title by title from one document for another. Which is so very, very boring when it’s 400 titles. So boring, and painful when you are hunched over a very uncomfortable computer setup for hours to work on it. I might want to rethink this whole quantity over quality thing I’ve been doing. Chris might have the right idea, just doing 2 story reviews a week and updating the list as he goes gives him a nice short easily handled list of titles.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 5, 2014 in Ponies

 

2 responses to “Pony Stories: The List

  1. Present Perfect

    March 5, 2014 at 8:44 pm

    Oh darn, I thought you were actually reading The List. :B

    I like lists, though. Especially when my stories get 4 stars on them. 😀

     
    • Griffin

      March 6, 2014 at 5:39 pm

      Lists are often fun! Which probably means I’m a bit of a nerd, since I like sorting things in nice simply categories.

       

Leave a Reply

