RSS

Pony Story 95

06 Apr

The every day deluge continues! Mostly because I wrote a batch of these and scheduled them for successive days. This one’s another from the list provided by Mr. Professor Whooves a while back. Which is where I grabbed a lot of longer stories to chew through. Today is Project Sunflower, a story about alien nanotechnology forcing humans to spy on ponies. Which is a technically accurate description of the story. You’d probably be better served just going to the story page to read the actual story blurb. To sum up: I liked it a lot.

Project: Sunflower by Hoopy McGee

This was really, really good. Probably a human in Equestria story, but not exactly? Anyway, I really liked this one. Had a few interesting worldbuilding bits, and I always like well-done alternate worlds premises, but mostly it was just a good story with great characters. The characters from the show were presented well, the human characters were well done. It really did seem like a alternate story from the show. The same level of lightheartedness and comedy and serious stuff without being dark. Or, at least never getting more dark than the stuff in the show. This one grabbed me enough that I stayed up all night to finish it off. I wouldn’t say it was deep, but I certainly was immersed from start to finish. A lot of stories I wish there was more of. Often in the slice-of-life stuff. However, in this one I think the author did a really good job at spending just the right amount of time on each part. Maybe a little too much on the last bits, but even then I don’t see much of a way to cut that down. The stuff in the first half involving Ponyville was pretty much perfect in pacing and complexity.

I think I’m going to see what other stories are related to this one. Especially by the same author. This story was a good one with a strong start, a strong middle, and a strong finish. Everything story-wise wrapped up, but still leaving the sense that the world past the edges of the story continues. This story ends, but other stories are right around the corner, in a metaphorical sense. I don’t have a lot of specific things to talk about in this story. Perfect? Not even close, but it was above average in almost every respect, good to great in places, and most importantly the story was enjoyable enough that it blinded me to whatever flaws it might have. I really wish I could say more about this one. I really deserves at least as many column inches as the previous long story I read, but I simply don’t have as many nitpicks about this one. It was just really good. No bad parts for me to nitpick and no incredible parts for me to praise in detail. Highly recommended.

Oh, and I will mention that it was a pretty good outsiders look at some of the little things in the pony world from a semi-outsiders perspective. Nothing really big or amazing good worldbuilding, but seeing how our human-turned-pony handled things was fun to watch. Though she does eventually introduce karaoke to Pinkie Pie, and I’m not sure that was a very smart idea long-term. Also, I think this story is about the best example of handling Lyra in a non-comedic fashion. How she was really excited to be working with humans, but never mentions it or anything. She never says anything about hands, that she’s thought about humans, or anything obvious. Just when communication goes up she’s really excited about getting a job on the human side of the portals. That’s it. Doesn’t even show her having a fascination with humans in general. In fact, at one point it says (implies really) that her fascination is with the portals and discovering new worlds and not humans at all.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 6, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

2 responses to “Pony Story 95

  1. Professor Whooves

    April 6, 2014 at 11:45 pm

    Thanks for vetting this fic, Griffin! I’ll move it up my reading queue.

    I enjoyed “The Life and Times of a Winning Pony”, though I expect it won’t have a lasting impression. It’s fun to read about a particular individual’s relationship troubles, but the fic didn’t really explore any underlying truths about love and friendship beyond the well-known “communication is important”. “Salvation” does that best.

    I’m also looking forward to “Princess Twilight Sparkle’s 500th Birthday”.

     
    • Griffin

      April 7, 2014 at 4:17 am

      Yeah, Salvation is pretty much the gold standard for well done relationship stories. As for Life And Times, my favorite bits were how well it blended with the events of the show. I’ve seen a few stories that did that not so well and it was nice to see an author pull it off that well.

       

Leave a Reply

