RSS

Pony Stories 105

17 Apr

Lots of short stories lately. So back to multiple stories a post. At least until I get to the one I had like four notebook pages of complaints about. That one gets it’s own post. It wasn’t even that bad a story. Also several non-pony actual book stories coming up in the next week or two. One I actually read as a paper hardcopy. Which was kind of weird now that I’m so used to reading on my kindle. Including the time I turned off the lights to read in bed before sleep, only to realize that the paperback isn’t self-illuminating. Heard about the Dangerous Business sequel. Looking forward to it, but hoping it involves the other three mane six ponies this time. It would be interesting to see where Jetfire takes Twilight, Fluttershy, and Pinkie Pie.

Luna’s Pet Project by Fizzy Orange

Fun Lunaverse story. Pretty much stand-alone, all you need to know is that Princess Luna is in charge of Equestria and can split herself into multiple copies. It’s pretty much just a little slice of life of Luna having a bit of fun in disguise. It actually is a story that happens before another one I read that involved this same Luna-disguise character. No big continuity really. Just in that one she’s already got a job as a court page, and this is the story she gets the job. I like little continuity touches like that in stories even if they aren’t directly connected.

Luna’s Night Off by GrassAndClouds2

This one has a really good start. More trivial noble squabbles in Luna’s Night Court. Just another slice of life about Luna in disguise having fun in her job and with friends. Fun picturing the final scene which is a hoofball game they get Octavia to play with them.

Rarity Versus Bukkake Ninjas by Fiddlebottoms

Well, more or less just skimmed this one. This was… Well, I can’t say that the title was false advertising. Not one I’d recommend, but as parodies go it wasn’t a crime against writing or anything. Post-review fun fact. The spellcheck doesn’t recognize the word bukkake. I think it’s just pretending so it can save some of its dignity.

After the Night by GrassAndClouds2

A more substantial Lunaverse story. This one is a follow up to the big season one finale. I wouldn’t recommend reading this by yourself, it’s got like a half-dozen stories of build-up behind it. Not that they were all leading to this exactly. Just this little story has a lot of weight of previous events and has a lot of character development from other stories about characters that aren’t even here that give this more depth. Still, I found it a interesting story. Contrasts nicely with the light and fluffy slice of life stories I’d read just previously. Plus I get lots of amusement about cheery Pinkie Pie and ruthless politician Prince Blueblood hooking up together. Which happened a story or two ago in the series, I think, but this one reminded me of it.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 17, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

2 responses to “Pony Stories 105

  1. Present Perfect

    April 17, 2014 at 7:46 am

    I can’t believe you read Rarity Versus Bukkake Ninjas XD

     
    • Griffin

      April 17, 2014 at 9:15 pm

      Well, I pretty much skimmed it-

      I mean, someone hacked my blog and posted that without my knowledge. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

       

Leave a Reply

