RSS

Pony Stories 133

19 May

Well, my rereading of the last few Dresden Files stories has been something of a disappointment. I think reading all the really good pony fan fiction has given me a higher standard for magic/fantasy stories. Which is kind of disappointing, but also kind of cool. The Dresden Files have never been award winning material, but at least they were fun with good action scenes. Might just be that I’ve read these particular ones several times before and there are no surprises. I’ll have to see how I enjoy the new one when it comes out.

Cousin Braeburn Writes a Crop-fic by Skywriter

Yeah, I misread the title to this a few times before I got it. Which was mostly likely intended. Anyway, to the story. I will enjoy pretty much anything Skywriter writes. This one is not one of the few exceptions. Hilarious to the point of loud giggles as I read it. Highly recommended for comedic purposes.

If Memory Serves by Pascoite

Augh, the feels! Good story. Though the loss of memory (or mental facilities in general) hits me hard as a story subject so it’s not quite as biased as a opinion as I attempt to have on other stories. This one isn’t quite as good as Theory or In Memory Of.. but it’s probably in the third spot just after those two. Recommended if you want and/or can handle the sads.

Dark Equestria by Lurks-no-More

Why is Celestia always pride? Why can’t the sister’s swap places in the Nightmare Moon story and keep the same emotions? I’d love swapped Celestia get banished because she gets overtaken by jealousy. On the other hand, if you can swap the places of two characters but keep the emotions the same that means you are using badly written interchangeable characters. Anyway, this is a interesting story. I liked the idea of Luna winning the fight a thousand years ago. However, the ending was a bit anti-climatic. Some cool alternative universe ideas here.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 19, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

6 responses to “Pony Stories 133

  1. Pascoite Fics

    May 19, 2014 at 7:55 am

    Thank you for the review! I’m glad you liked it. This is probably my favorite of the stories I’ve written, and it hits a little close to home for me, as I said in the author’s note.

    I always do a little happy dance when I’ve grabbed your attention enough to review one of my stories. Keep up the good blog! I’ve heard of some stories here I wouldn’t have otherwise.

     
    • Griffin

      May 19, 2014 at 9:22 am

      Mostly it’s grabbing my attention to add it to the to-read list. I put up a review of pretty much everything I read these days. But yeah, you should keep writing good stuff for me to keep reading.

       
  2. Aragon

    May 20, 2014 at 4:27 am

    Funnily enough, even though I’ve read my quota of good fics too, I think the Dresden files are far better than almost everything pony-related. And, well, to be honest, any published book tends to be miles better than any fanfic. There might be a couple exceptions, but there’s a reason why they were published.

    Then again, lately I’m only reading classics or books that I know are good. I guess that if I compare my fimfic readings to Boneshaker or Eragon, for example, everything with ponies wins. But that’s mostly because those two are garbage.

    Talking about the reviews: Pascoite and Skywriter being good? Wow, what a surprise. Honestly, I would probably be way more shocked if anything by those two was doomed as bad by a critic. So yeah, those two grabbed my attention, but the third one… Meh, I think I’ll give it a pass.

     
    • Griffin

      May 20, 2014 at 6:13 am

      I’m pretty sure that the Dresden Files thing was just I started with a book that was the end point of a lot of build-up. I read the next couple and found I was enjoying them a lot more. Basically, if you are going to re-read several of the Dresden books, don’t start with Turn Coat I guess. In general yes, the average published work is going to be better then the average fanfic, but I’ve read at least a half-dozen ponyfics that I’d consider better then the Dresden Files. They are good fun, but I wouldn’t consider them pinnacles of literature. Some of it is that I’m noticing Jim Butcher’s habits and weaknesses as a writer more. Plus I’ve read several ponyfics that have really good magical combat/action scenes, so that’s lifted my bar for measuring that sort of thing.

      I’ve learned far too much about how the publishing industry works in the last year or so to have it be a measure of quality these days. Especially with the books that have become popular and earned lots of money. There’s a reason I’m self-publishing my own work instead of submitting it places.

      But yes, Skywriter writes good stuff. That’s the hard-hitting criticism you can expect from me.

       
      • Aragon

        May 20, 2014 at 1:34 pm

        Hey, I find your hard-hitting criticism pretty useful, personally. You tend to like more things than me, but when you say a story is bad or that you didn’t really enjoy it, I know for sure that it’s gonna be garbage.

        And yeah, popularity means nothing in the real world, sadly. As per the Dresden Files, they’ve never been a high peak of literature, but damn they’re entertaining. I haven’t read the whole series yet, though. I usually read something else in between books to keep them fresh.

        And hey, I think Jim Butcher is quite cool. Sure he has weaknesses now and then, but overall? I really like him!

         
      • Griffin

        May 20, 2014 at 7:48 pm

        Oh, Jim Butcher is awesome. Both as an author and a person (or so I’ve heard). Just a lot of my reading of fan fiction is from a author perspective, identifying what does and does not work, seeing the nuts and bolts. Then I go into Dresden Files with that up-to-11 analysis and all of his flaws as an author hit me in the face like a sledgehammer. Took a book or two to ease back into the ‘just go with the flow’ mindset. Because man, he’s a good author, but Butcher has a few really repetitive flaws as an author if you are looking for that sort of thing. Still, looking forward to the new one in a week or so.

         

Leave a Reply

