RSS

Pony Stories 134

20 May

More pony fan fiction thoughts. I know, I’m surprised as you are. Which is to say not very surprised.

The Boy Who Cried Wolf by InquisitorM

This story is really good. I don’t always click with this author’s stories, but when I do I enjoy them a lot. Just more evidence that InquisitorM is a really good author who’s brain occasionally works at odd angles to mine (and others I assume). Has a very interesting take on Gryphons, one of the most original on the subject I’ve run across. Also lets us take a look at what things might be like in the old homelands of the ponies after the three main tribes left to go and found Equestria so long ago. I really want to see fanart of the shaman character now. Pony in a bear-pelt cloak is just cool.

The Return of Tambelon by RainbowDoubleDash

Been waiting for this Lunaverse story to finish up for quite a while. Bit disappointed considering the long wait. Decent story, just not what I was looking for. The main reason I like the Lunaverse is the fun characters, how they interact with each other, and getting a fun twist on events from the show. This was a good adventure story with cool stuff, but we don’t get much focus on the characters and the events are original and not really connected to the show at all. So, good story meets misplaced expectations after a long wait. Avoid those mistakes and if you like the Lunaverse you should check this one out. Also, post-S4 finale minor spoiler: Tirek being weak when he gets out of Tartarus is apparently canon in the show. Huh.

Let Me Tell You Where This Will End by Selbi

This was disgusting. Also funny as heck. Totally dialogue with no scenery or action prose. Which is probably for the best. Don’t need vivid descriptions of the scenery in this situation. Certainly don’t want it. Yet I still feel better about reading this then the Rarity/ninjas story a while back.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on May 20, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

10 responses to “Pony Stories 134

  1. InquisitorM

    May 20, 2014 at 9:33 am

    It’s a matter of fact that my brain works at odd angles compared to pretty much everyone. And I actually mean that sincerely. Seems to me that most people tend to assume Equestria is ‘merely’ an overlay to our culture, but I find that remarkably dull. I mean, I get turned off any fic where police turn up in some manner, because to me that’s just gratuitous laziness when it comes to imagination. Do we ever see police in the show? No, we see royal guards and that’s it, so why would anyone write them into the universe unless it was because that’s the only way they can conceive of society working? So whenever I come up against something the show has specifically not explained (Gryphon reproduction and culture and–*shudder*–batponies, etc) I try to actually invent something, rather than just go with the common-as-muck interpretations.

    This is the story I’d really love to have someone do a reading of, though, and I’m glad you enjoyed it. I’d still be pleased as punch to get my first piece of fanart, though. Given that the shaman gets no physical description at all beyond her cloak, though, it would certainly be interesting to see what people come up with!

    -Scott

     
    • Griffin

      May 20, 2014 at 7:46 pm

      Yeah, the cover was a cool piece of art. I like your stuff in the abstract because it’s all well written. I might not like it, but it’s never for quality reasons. That’s really rare. There is a balance between common and original though. Sure, the fan fiction tends to be more common-as-muck than is should be, but if you go the totally original route for everything you risk the reader not connecting with the story. There needs to be a minimal level of commonness for people to emphasize with.

       
      • InquisitorM

        May 21, 2014 at 3:54 am

        Depends on what one is being original about I suppose. This is definitely standing proudly outside that boundary, but in most cases we’re just talking details within an otherwise perfectly normal pony story. The point certainly has merit as far as readership goes, though; T.D.’s Highball has a chronic lack of attention considering how good it is, and it seems universally acknowledged that it’s the all-OC cast and sans-cannon fixtures that hold it back.

        All of which is a shame, since that’s the stuff I’ve consistently found to be some of the best work (Beyond The Wall, Cup of Joe, et. al.). But that’s what I get for having standards unreasonable for a fanfic community!

         
      • Griffin

        May 21, 2014 at 5:04 am

        Agreed. Pony fiction should be more original in parts because the fact that it’s fan fiction gives it the common ground for a reader. Someone should have unreasonably high standards to keep pushing the rest of us.

         
      • InquisitorM

        May 21, 2014 at 6:11 am

        Oddly enough, I was mentioning something along those lines just last night.

         
      • Griffin

        May 21, 2014 at 3:07 pm

        Was that meant to be a link?

         
      • Present Perfect

        May 21, 2014 at 7:14 am

        M, are you the one person in this fandom with as large an appreciation for extra-show fics as me?

         
      • InquisitorM

        May 21, 2014 at 7:44 am

        Umm… that would depend on what you mean by extra-show fics, I guess?

         
      • Present Perfect

        May 21, 2014 at 6:01 pm

        Anything that goes beyond what’s possible in the show. I was going to say “AU”, but it’s more than just AU. I mean, Cup of Joe feels Equestrian if you can accept ponies going to war for any reason, but you’ll never see something like that in show. It includes, but isn’t limited to, crossovers, grimdark, shipping and future fics, as well as straight-up AU.

         
  2. InquisitorM

    May 21, 2014 at 3:31 pm

    Damn the lack of preview/edit.

    Linky McLinkyFace

    Apparently, I was using the wrong quotes…

     

Leave a Reply

