RSS

Pony Stories 146

03 Jun

My birthday today, so gonna mix things up a bit. Just toss in all the really short reviews I had. Stories I didn’t have a lot to say about good or bad. Thinking do twice as many as usual. In other news, been thinking I might want to organize this place a little more. Would anyone like / be interested / care if I did things a little more Twilight-like with lists? At the moment it’s pretty much whatever I throw together each day. What if I did something like non-pony fiction on Tuesdays, personal headcanon posts on Saturdays, gaming ideas on Thursdays, and so on. Have a weekly schedule where I put specific content on specific days. It would still be 90% or so fan fiction stuff, but have been feeling like I want to diversify a bit. Or should I just have reviews every day and put any additional content in the intro bits (like this here) as I’ve been doing.

Hush Now, Quiet Now… by FanNotANerd

Not sure it works as horror, but was a interesting little piece of a story. Fluttershy going insane. Just as long as it needs to be to convey the situation, but not dragging on or using gratuitous gore or violence.

The Misfile by Alexstrazsa

A bit of light comedy. I liked it, but will admit there isn’t much here. Not really long enough to be an actual story, but any longer would have worn out the joke.

Lyra Makes Chocolate Pudding at 4am by Bolding

A curiosity, but I wouldn’t say it was good. Language use is consistent, but a bit rough. The story is short and not really a story. On the plus side, might be about pudding addiction.

Midnight Run – A Carpet of Stars by Midnightshadow

Sequel to Midnight Run. Not as good as that one. This was a bit too abstractly philosophic/metaphysical for my tastes. I’d say it was worth a read, but don’t expect too much out of it.

I Saw Her Standing There by DeiStar

Another decent, but nothing special story. This really needed more build-up. It’s like chapter 4 of 5 in a average romance fanfic. If you really like Fluttershy and Rarity as a pair, go ahead and enjoy it. If you don’t, nothing here is going to grab you in this story.

Learn to Fly by Vimbert the Unimpressive

That was something alright. Not quite sure what I just read. A bit of a random dream sequence, but not all that surreal or mind-bendy. Nothing all that deep, but I wouldn’t call it badly written. Not sure if I should recommend this, or to whom. Worth a ready as a fragment curiosity I guess.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 3, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

2 responses to “Pony Stories 146

  1. Present Perfect

    June 3, 2014 at 8:01 am

    Happy birthday! 😀

    Just do what I do: Whatever the hell you want. :B I try to keep to a “minimum five reviews or three days apart, whichever comes first” schedule, but that’s it. If you’ve got something to talk about, talk about it. (FYI, I skipped your Skin Game review because I have just started reading it. c.c Thank you for the spoiler warning.)

     
    • Griffin

      June 3, 2014 at 8:15 pm

      I try to provide useful warnings for things like that. Feel free to look back when you finish it and see how much you agree with me.

       

Leave a Reply

