RSS

Pony Stories 149

06 Jun

Thanks to Skywriter I’ve been listening to Moonrise for the last few days. Last few days as of a week ago away. No clue if I’m still enjoying it by the time this goes up. I’ve pretty much got the same tastes as him for music, at least pony-based music, so glad he pointed me at it. If you don’t follow his fimfiction blog and haven’t heard of this one, you should probably check it out. Either way, three more reviews below the break.

Killing Mary Sue by Paleo Prints

Needed a bit of light comedy after In Bloom. This seemed just the ticket. Has a wonderful first line. ‘As soon as she saw the dress Twilight should have known the only way it could end was a sledgehammer’. I really shouldn’t have found this so funny, but I did. If you like stories about fan fiction cliches then this story is one you’ll want to read.

License To Fly by PonIver

Eh, this was functional. The characters were as well characterized as in an average episode of the show. Mostly it comes down to I don’t think that pony and the DMV mix together well. This needed to either be a bit shorter, really tightening up the language to make it a brief joke, or much longer. I would have liked a bit more focus on why Rainbow Dash wanted to talk with Fluttershy that day, or seen how RD handles remedial flight school.

My Mommy by Serina

I would call this a boilerplate fanfic. Writing is functional. Characters have their expected traits, Dinky is cute and loves her mom, Ditzy is a clumsy mailpony who ponies make fun of, but no depth or complexity beyond that. I spend most of my time reading this thinking about better fanfics. If you are looking for a good ‘Dinky loves her mom’ story I would recommend Family Matters by RainbowDoubleDash of the Lunaverse.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 6, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

4 responses to “Pony Stories 149

  1. Pascoite Fics

    June 6, 2014 at 2:34 pm

    Oh snap, you read “In Bloom”? What did you think of it?

     
    • Griffin

      June 6, 2014 at 3:08 pm

      What, can’t wait for it to come up in the rotation? Then again, I don’t actually remember where I put it in. Lemme check. You question will be answered on the 12th, looks like. The anticipation-building trick now known as ‘putting these up out of order’.

       
      • Pascoite Fics

        June 7, 2014 at 3:16 pm

        Ah. I was afraid I’d missed it somewhere. I will wait with all the patience I can muster.

         
      • Griffin

        June 7, 2014 at 6:18 pm

        No need to wait! I moved it up just for you. Check Pony Stories 150 for the answers to your deepest questions. Or, you know, I could spill the summary here. Which is: Good story, high quality, but made me feel awful and so I don’t think I’ll ever be reading it again.

         

Leave a Reply

