RSS

Pony Stories 151

08 Jun

Time for some worldbuilding. Most of my personal pony headcanon is stitched together from cool ideas from various bits of fan fiction I’ve read. There are a Two original ideas I’ve mixed in, well, ideas that I didn’t take from others anyway, ‘original’ is probably stretching the term. The first was the idea of the Border Patrol. Which I don’t think I’ve posted about in any depth here. Might have to fix that. Anyway, today gonna ramble on about the second original (ha!) idea I’m going to fold into my personal headcanon. A holiday to match up with Celestia’s Summer Sun Celebration. Princess Luna’s Winter Moon Masquerade. Because Nightmare Night is a holiday that happened after she was exiled, and I like having a duality with the two sisters so I was thinking about what kind of holiday the princess of the night might have. Anyway, if you just want some more reviews, they are down below after the break. Just look for the first title/link.

The Winter Moon Masquerade

A holiday of night and for mystery. Many traditions are involved, but the focal event is a large masquerade ball (each city that celebrates has one) that ponies show up to in masks. Enough to blur their identity, but not hide it completely. It is a time to throw caution to the side and do things you wouldn’t do any other night of the year. Where social barriers are ignored. Anyone you dance with might be nobility, or one of the royal guards, or even one of the princesses. All are equal on the Winter Moon Masquerade. It is a night to dance with the pony you thought was above your station, to confess your love to somepony you’ve never been able to talk to, or simply show another side of yourself. Who you are on the Winter Moon Masquerade Ball is not who you are either before or after. You can do what you like and leave it behind you the next day. It is for hopeful lovers, crazy ideas, and lowered inhibitions. Though a certain amount of elegance is expected.

It is considered the highest faux pas to refer to somepony’s behavior during the masquerade, at least by name or cutie mark. All conversation about it should refer only to the masks or outfits, never the pony wearing them. However, it is a accompanying tradition that in the week after the masquerade that anypony who wishes to ‘reveal’ their identity should wear their mask to a formal event afterward, or put it in the window of their house so that ponies passing by can see it. A indirect confession often used by romantic partners who met at the ball and wish to continue their romance. Of course, it is easy enough to fake a mask somepony else wore. Many plays before the time of Nightmare Moon had a faked or mistaken mask display at the center of relationship drama. Two ponies meet at the masquerade, fall in love, then a jealous pony steals or copies the mask of one of them trying to steal the pony they want away. Think ‘Twelfth Night’ but with cartoon ponies and fancy masks instead of genderswapping.

Tea Time with Alicorn by Glimmerglaze

This one was wonderful. A sweet little character study of both Twilight Sparkle (post-alicorn) and Fluttershy. With just a touch of Rainbow Dash around the edges. This probably has the best show-continuity Fluttershy I’ve seen in a fanfic. Sweet and caring and compassionate, but not scared or shallow. Highly recommended. I’m going to have to see if this author has any other stories.

Pick Me Up At Seven by Jondor

Interesting little romance. Not sure I like first-person perspective ponyfic. I must have read a story like this before, but I really noticed it this time. Just seemed odd for stepping into the shoes of a named and well defined character like Rainbow Dash. I’d recommend this one for a bit of lighthearted Applejack and Rainbow Dash romance.

In the Shadow of the Sun by Quillery

Good enough that I wanted more. Felt like the first chapter in a longer story about Luna and Celestia coming to terms with each other after Nightmare Moon was defeated. Very nice snapshot of what Princess Luna might have been going through right after she was defeated/saved by the elements of harmony. Well, not immediately after. More around the time when she is brought back to Canterlot after those events.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 8, 2014 in Books 2014, My Writing, Ponies, Reviews

 

4 responses to “Pony Stories 151

  1. Present Perfect

    June 8, 2014 at 7:48 am

    I like that headcanon with the masks and the plays. That’s way more thought than I put into the idea. :B (One of my stories features ponies going to a Winter Ball, and I now wish I had at least been more creative with the name.)

     
    • Griffin

      June 8, 2014 at 10:58 am

      Sometimes my brain just latches onto a simple phrase/name/idea and keeps thinking about it until I get stuff like this. I am pretty proud of the name though. Most of the time I’m horrible at coming up with names.

      Also, it’s kind of cheating to reference Shakespeare and go ‘something like that’.

       
  2. Pascoite Fics

    June 9, 2014 at 7:08 am

    There was a reading done (back in February, I think) of Glimmerglaze’s story with a very good VA reading Fluttershy’s part. And it was very interesting hearing Glimmerglaze himself read Twilight’s part with his heavy German accent. Unfortunately, I don’t have the link atm, or the time index where it starts, but I think Present Perfect does.

     
  3. Glimmerglaze

    August 15, 2014 at 10:52 pm

    Well… I can come up with a link, though probably unnecessary at this point:

    At least roundabout there is where the live reading starts; 2:20:00 or so. Shellah as Fluttershy is a delight. I am also in it, both with heart and accent, for what it’s worth.

    Fluttershy is a wonderful character, and I’m glad I was able to write a story that shows off why, at least to some degree. Saving the world with grand feats of strength or courage is not her element (which makes it all the more impressive that she still sometimes pulls it off) – but there *are* things she can do no one else can do quite like her, and those are just as magical.

     

Leave a Reply

