RSS

Book: Machine Of Death

11 Jun

A brief break in the Bookplayer extravaganza for a bit of non-pony storytelling. I got pointed at this by the pony fanfic Act Of Will. Was not disappointed. I’m scheduling this about three weeks in advance for when I’m gone. I’ll probably be setting up for the comic con during the middle of the day this finally goes live. Luckily, I’ll be setting up a artist’s booth and not a bookstore booth. So no carrying dozens of boxes of books and tall wood shelf units to construct a small bookstore in the dealer’s room.

Machine Of Death

As mentioned in the intro bit, I was pointed at this by a pony fanfic crossover. The pony story was so good I wanted to check out the other half of the source material. This was different than I was expecting, but better as well. It has really good coherence for a collection of short stories that are not connected to each other. Besides the main premise I mean. All of these could have been written as parts along the same continuity, there were almost no contradictions in any of them. It is also surprising just how much variety such a simple premise has. Even the majority of the stories that went in the same basic direction with it were different enough that it never felt old. A wide variety of writing styles and angles, the same thing I have been reading fan fiction for, as well as emotional aspects. Some were sad, some were silly, some were hopeful. Sometimes a story ended with a death, sometimes it didn’t. This book was packed with content, probably about twice as many short stories as I was expecting. Though the fact that I was enjoying the ebook probably helped since I never got to see how thick the book was. Check out the basic premise in the link above, and if that interests you I can promise that you will enjoy at least one and probably many of the stories in it. Anything else would be going into details about this story or that story in the book, and many of them have surprises that should be discovered while reading. Glad I got pointed at this. I’m planning on getting a ebook version of this and a hardcopy version.

Buying Options

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 11, 2014 in Books 2014, Reviews

 

4 responses to “Book: Machine Of Death

  1. Aragon

    June 11, 2014 at 10:49 am

    Yeah, I also got the ebook version when you posted that review of Presentperfect, and I gotta say that the book has surprised me. It’s far better than expected — and Yahtzee, of all people, has a story there, as well as Randall Munroe (author of xkcd).

    I haven’t finished the book yet, mostly because with my exams I can barely read one hour per day, but I’m really digging it. It’s surprising the vast amount of variation it has — some stories are beautiful, and some stories got me chuckling all the way long.

     
    • Present Perfect

      June 11, 2014 at 5:13 pm

      I got the ebook when they released it free, sometime around a year after the original collection had been published. (I actually found out about it originally because I read Wondermark, whose author is one of the editors, and of course I was excited about Yahtzee.) In all that time, I don’t think I’ve read more than a half dozen stories. :B It just sits around. I’ve even got the card game and a physical copy now!

      Also, don’t forget that “Torn Apart and Devoured by Lions” was written by Skywriter. 😀

       
      • Aragon

        June 12, 2014 at 2:38 am

        Wait, really? That was Skywriter?

        Oh God, I just checked it and you’re right. I should have paid more attention to the name of the authors.

         
  2. Griffin

    June 12, 2014 at 7:01 pm

    I’m hoping the second book has as much variety in the stories.

     

Leave a Reply

