RSS

Pony Stories 163

22 Jun

While updating the big master review list I ran across another little pocket of reviews. Sort of, anyway. The fimfiction.net user SilentBelle has what looks like 10 or so reviews I figured I’d toss on the list. They also have put together a group aiming to highlight quality, as so many others are doing, and figured I’d let people know about it. Mostly because they’ve got reviews of Eternal and It’s a Dangerous Business, Going Out Your Door. Here’s the group page: The Canterlot Archives. The part that grabbed me about the review of It’s A Dangerous Business was that the person writing it mentions they had never heard of it before. That’s just crazy! I think we might have to simply start shouting about it at every person you meet during the day, until the word is spread far and wide.

In related news, working to add xTSGx’s reviews to the list. At least links to the stories I’ve got there already. I just want to say that his review posts are very well titled, which is nice. However, he went from #77 to #78 and that throws my whole phase 1 sorting scheme off. Shame on you, mr xTSGx. Also, he didn’t like RUN. Which gives us a different opinion on that one. Which was my main reason for putting together the big master list in the first place.

Sepia Tock: Adventures of the Ponyville Clockmaker by CanvasWolfDoll

This was decently written, but I didn’t like it much. I’m not a huge fan of the whole Doctor Whooves thing in the first place. Most of my dislike for this is the whole self-aware thing going on, and that has to be done really well for me to enjoy it. Or be done in small doses. Then I was accepting that and the story shifted gears. I would have enjoyed just a simple slice-of-life sort of thing, but about halfway through it changes to a dramatic defeat-the-villain sort of thing. So too much fandom self-reference, inconsistant genre, and pretty much mediocre to average writing. If you like Doctor Whooves you should read this, but if you don’t I would avoid it.

Bonafide by Sharp Spark

Fairly typical ‘somepony is a changeling’ story. Has no worldbuilding except one tiny bit. Which is a point against it since that’s the main draw in changeling stories for me. Still, it was sweet and I liked it. I do like most of the changeling romance stories thought, so take that with a grain of salt.

Big Macintosh, Derpy, And A Loud Mouth by palelordhiphis

Decent little slice of life. Writing is very good, but it’s sweet and has adorable young Applejack in it. Falls into the category of kinda acceptable, but not really good. Still, it does have a very adorable young Applejack in one scene.

A Day in the Life of Truth Seeker: Ponyville’s Resident Conspiracy Theorist by JohnPerry

The idea of a pony conspiracy theorist cracks me up. This fanfic does pretty good at delivering just that. No real story or anything, just a bit of great humor. I’d recommend this if the idea of a pony conspiracy theorist cracks you up as well.

Circleship: This Too Shall Pass by JohnPerry

Simple shipping story, but certainly sweet. Spitfire and Big Mac is an interesting pair. Good story for anyone who enjoys light shipping, but nothing here if you are looking for anything besides that.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 22, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

4 responses to “Pony Stories 163

  1. bchandler2

    June 22, 2014 at 10:21 am

    I can’t remember if you have, but speaking of John Perry and adding more reviews to the master list, have you been following and adding the reviews from John’s hilarious and informative “John Perry Suffers the Feature Box” series?

     
    • Griffin

      June 22, 2014 at 10:46 am

      I’ve been adding some of them. I’m simply not able to keep up with all the stories reviewed by the reviewers I follow. So mostly the titles on the list will probably be mostly what I read, with links to whatever other reviews for those stories I find. Think I’m pretty much through his backlog to add overlapping reviews though.

       
      • bchandler2

        June 22, 2014 at 11:27 am

        Speaking of me giving you more work to do, FimFiction user Cerulean Voice has done 5 VERY in-depth reviews, including one of the aforementioned “Dangerous Business”. Just letting you know: http://www.fimfiction.net/user/Cerulean+Voice/blog

        Oh, and thank you for doing these reviews, and anthologizing other people’s!

         
      • Griffin

        June 22, 2014 at 11:45 am

        More work, ha! He’s only got 10 blog posts to go through. Compared to the 3-digits I’ve been going through lately that’s easy. Time to edit the big master list page again.

         

Leave a Reply

