RSS

Pony Stories 167

26 Jun

To answer a author’s comment over on fimfiction. Sure, reviewers like like to be acknowledged, but the real attention grabber was asking for a ‘meh’ response from us. Especially on one of Aragon’s stories. I don’t think he could get a honest ‘meh’ reaction out of me if he tried. I’m still surprised that John Perry had a meh reaction to it.

A Teatime Visit by Esle Ynopemos

Fun, but lots of visual humor that would have worked better as an episode. Even so, this was pretty funny. If you like comedy you should give this a read. Rarity as a prankster is a hilariously cool idea.

Tea Time by Einhander

Really liked this one. This version of Celestia is quite possibly my favorite. Wise, but not all-knowing. This story is something of a look at both Celestia and Cadance. It explores both of them with a good amount of skill.

Twilight’s Best Friend by Blueshift

Somewhat amusing if a bit average. The most amusing (unintentionally) bit was Twilight’s line “There is no such thing as murder”.

Fallout Equestria: Begin Again by the runaway

The use of language is over the top fancy. The author seems to want every bit of scenery description, every character thought, and every action to be flowery poetry. I’d recommend trying the first chapter to see if you can handle it. Not bad, exactly, but way over the top.

One mention of nuclear war, plus it mentions several religions (not specific ones, just that there were several of them before the cataclysm). This seems more like basic post-apocalyptic fiction than Fallout: Equestria. The story needed more time getting to know the character and the stable before leaving it. My complaints about the thematic troubles aside, there were a lot of neat ideas just in the stable that would have been cool to explore. Another problem was that our main character gets a sunny bright and clear sky when he gets out. Which takes away one of the cool features of the FO:E world.

I didn’t finish this. I ended up stopping when the main character ran across some pegasi fighting with somepony and he immediately thought of the pegasi as enemies. For no reason he considered them horrible villains. Someone from a stable would have no reason to consider pegasi evil or villainous. It’s a pity. I like the FO:E world, but I’m not sure this author does. I might be interested in seeing a more independent fanfic this author writes.

Princess Twilight Sparkle flips a table… and then some. by Flint Sparks

I believe this should be classified as a crackfic, though a somewhat tame one by most measurements of that sort of thing. It was amusing, if a little too long for the joke.

The Golden Armor by Comet Burst

I didn’t finish this one. Was just too bland, cliche, and full of fanfiction mistakes. I got up to the point where the main character, a idealist introvert who joined the royal guard, is having a bad day. He gets bullied, is saved by Shining Armor who then takes him to see Princess Celestia and Princess Luna. All of which happens on his very first day of royal guard training. Given the name of the main character is the same as the author’s fimfiction name, I’d have to say it looks like the story is a by-the-numbers self-insert wish fulfillment. Not the worst I’ve seen, but still not very good.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 26, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

7 responses to “Pony Stories 167

  1. Aragon

    June 26, 2014 at 9:50 am

    I tried to read The Golden Armor once. I lasted one chapter. It was just too amateurish for me, sadly. I remember a scene in which the protagonist tries to get in the Guard for the first time, and then that bat pony just… tackles him and flirts with him? And he acts annoyed and has this “I’m so done with you” attitude (i.e.: he’s a jerk) but she keeps bugging him (i.e.: she’s a jerk), and…

    Ugh. It was like watching a very bad anime, that’s what I mean. I just didn’t feel it was natural at all. Which is a shame, because the idea could really work.

    Also d’aaw that intro was sweet. Though if you think I could never get a “meh” out of you, that’s because you clearly haven’t read my old stuff. Don’t do it. Everything before Daring DONE! should be forgotten.

     
  2. inquisitormence

    June 26, 2014 at 11:02 am

    I’m intrigued, now. I’m not sure what you mean by ‘asking for a “meh” response’.

     
  3. xjuggernaughtx

    June 26, 2014 at 6:39 pm

    Good timing! I was just looking at The Golden Armor yesterday and wondering if it was any good. Now between your review and Chris’s, I can safely say that I won’t read it. Still, what a crazy amount of upvotes for a story that no one that I know seems to like very much.

     
    • Griffin

      June 26, 2014 at 7:07 pm

      Well, the vast majority of people don’t actually like high quality storytelling. If you don’t mind the cliche and contrivance, you might like it. Really, the parts I read were basic wish-fulfillment fantasy stuff and a lot of people enjoy that. See example: ‘Harry Potter’.

       
  4. Professor Whooves

    June 27, 2014 at 2:52 am

    “The Golden Armor” was terrible. Mediocre writing and pervasive clichés.
    I liked “Harry Potter”, though. Perhaps I wasn’t well-read enough to notice clichés at the time.

     
    • Griffin

      June 27, 2014 at 5:31 am

      Harry Potter was better written than Golden Armor. However, the first Harry Potter book remains the second most boring book I’ve ever read. I’d call it the same basic cliches with better execution.

       

Leave a Reply

