RSS

Pony Stories 175

04 Jul

Augh. Need to put actual work into these posts again. I’ve run out of my backlog of typed reviews I can just cut-and-paste into the posts. Curse you, minor annoyance and needed effort. Oh, and happy 4th of July to anyone here in the US of A with me. Hopefully the tropical storm about to hit the east coast doesn’t turn my town into a apocalyptic dystopia tonight. Oh, and for the seven people in the UK who visited the site yesterday, I think I’m required by constitutional law to remind you today that we won and you lost. Fun fact: dystopia is not in this spellcheck dictionary. Neither is spellcheck apparently.

Be Mine by LightningBass94

I really, really hope this is a parody fanfic. Sadly, I don’t think it is. Given it isn’t over the top enough and the number at the end of the author’s name (which I’ve noticed tends to correlate with somewhat poor writing), I have a horrible suspicion that this is just fairly poor writing.

Daylight Burning by Guesswork

I almost didn’t finish this. The first two chapters are not very well written. Kind of glad I stuck with it. The writing gets better (though never reaches excellent). However, there are a few good worldbuilding bits I enjoyed and the characters were portrayed quite well. I had two major complains. First, this story takes place years after the show. They all talk about things that indicate maybe a decade or more has gone by, yet the story feels like it takes place during the show. None of the mane six have any feeling of maturity or experience beyond what we see in the show. Whether you think they are early teens, late teens, or early twenties in the show, the ten years after that are a fairly big impact on a person’s life. The second complaint is that a lot of this story just felt too modern. There was a good amount of pony theme and content, but also a lot of real world stuff, and the two were not blended together very well.

I would put this in the same basic genre as The Immortal Game, This one isn’t nearly as good, but that’s a high standard to match. The main problem was that this story wasn’t nearly as skillful at adding the violence to MLP. If you liked Immortal Game and wanted something similar, I’d say give this one a try. Just be prepared for really rough writing at the start and somewhat rough writing throughout. It does have Pinkie Pie hooking up romantically with a secret agent ninja, which was all sorts of adorable.

Dear Luna by electreXcessive

Sweet, and a bit sad. Not really a story itself. Just a moment where Princess Luna reads a letter from one of her subjects. I liked it.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on July 4, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

7 responses to “Pony Stories 175

  1. Present Perfect

    July 4, 2014 at 7:20 am

    It’s funny how the numbers thing, or really any “AOL screen name” type name, is often a precursor of poor writing. Every now and then, someone will come along and prove you wrong (xjuggernaughtx comes to mind), but it really does work.

    Of course, I try not to let author name predispose me to judgment. :B It’s hard.

     
    • Griffin

      July 4, 2014 at 10:00 am

      Since I don’t pay attention to the author that much starting a story it doesn’t really predispose me that much, but I’ve noticed that when writing up the review. It’s been about 95% or so correlation. Well, at least the name-number to poor writing. A pity that it doesn’t go the other way with bad writing meaning name-number.

       
    • xjuggernaughtx

      July 4, 2014 at 11:06 am

      My reaction: “Hey! I’VE got an AOL screen name! Why that PresentPerfect! I’m going to give him a piece of—oh! Oh, I see. Hey, I always knew I liked that PresentPerfect guy!”

       
      • Griffin

        July 4, 2014 at 3:41 pm

        Really, I’ve just noticed it as names with numbers on the end. So I don’t think you’ve got a AOL screen name or anything. Unlike some people who compliment you around here.

         
      • Present Perfect

        July 4, 2014 at 4:53 pm

        You could always take ’em off. I mean, all the cool kids are making small changes to their screen names right now.

        And by “all the cool kids” I mean me. :B

         
      • Griffin

        July 4, 2014 at 7:45 pm

        No sorry, I covered this over there. You aren’t allowed to change your name capitalization.

         
  2. xjuggernaughtx

    July 4, 2014 at 5:34 pm

    Well, the thing is that I literally do have an AOL screen name. It was XxjuggernaughtxX until my account was corrupted. Then it was changed to xjuggernaughtx. Soon afterward, I came to my senses and left AOL, but the name remains.

     

Leave a Reply

