RSS

Pony Stories 181

09 Jul

So, one of the other reviewers I’ve got on the big master list got through all the Most Dangerous Game stories and put up a huge post where he does short little reviews of all of them. Which, for starters, makes me feel like I’m dragging my feet, and secondly now I’m going to have to go through that whole thing to link it to the big master list. Augh! Or, you know, not augh. Because I have to go through and link all my reviews once I’ve got them up and all that.

In semi-related news, nobody is allowed anymore to title their fanfic Happily Ever After. I’ve got four of those in the big master list and I keep getting them mixed up.

Parhelion by Habanc

This was fun. Could have been a bit shorter, but it was cute. Did like this version of Princess Luna. Plus it ends with Princess Twilight Sparkle punching Princess Luna in the face. An honor once reserved only for Flash Sentry. Silly fluffy fanfic, but good for what it is.

A Voice In The Dark by Blueshift

Really good. Pretty powerful look at what the pony tribes might have been like before the unification. With a bit of prelude for that same event later in the timeline. Not as good as A Cup Of Joe, but i’d put it in the same ballpark.

What Could Have Been Lost by TheVClaw

Somewhat touching story. Has a fairly dark alternate ending for the wedding episodes, though just as a dream. Nice family moment between Twilight Sparkle and Spike.

Twilight Sparkle Tries Napping in a Tree by Lightning Bearer

Not bad. Start is fun. Pretty much a simple ‘Twilight Sparkle is excessively Twilight at a simple problem’ that is done decently well. Ending was predictable and kind of fizzles out.

Lyra Visits Bon Bon in Jail by Super Trampoline

This was okay. It certainly isn’t the best ‘Bon Bon is a changeling’ story I’ve read. Which is, I believe, a sub-genre of four stories I’ve read so far? Still really enjoy the all-dialogue stories though.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 9, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

6 responses to “Pony Stories 181

  1. Chris

    July 9, 2014 at 11:19 am

    I’ve read a couple of the Most Dangerous stories, but when I saw the number, I decided I’d wait until the judges narrowed it down to the top entries and then just review those. After all, what’s the point of having guys like PP around if they won’t weed out the dross? I’d hate for the poor guy to feel under-utilized.

     
    • Griffin

      July 9, 2014 at 11:32 am

      That’s what we’re here for. Well, me anyway. I handle the quantity, you handle the quality. Then I get all annoyed with you when you don’t like the stories I like as much as I liked them. The wonderful circle of life reviews.

       
    • Present Perfect

      July 9, 2014 at 5:09 pm

      Sempai noticed me ;_;

       
  2. bchandler2

    July 9, 2014 at 12:52 pm

    “This was okay. It certainly isn’t the best ‘Bon Bon is a changeling’ story I’ve read.”

    That’s pretty much everyone’s opinion. I originally wrote it mostly for dialogue practice, never expecting it to become my highest rated story. Huh. Funny how things work out like that, isn’t it?

    The week after I wrote this, I finally got around to reading Mendacity, and I felt very small after reading that great masterpiece of world building. Then again, as I said, I wasn’t going for a masterpiece, I was going for a conversation scene.

     
    • Griffin

      July 9, 2014 at 1:23 pm

      I’m just amused that ‘Bon Bon is a changeling’ has enough stories to be a genre. Yours did have good dialogue in it, just not good enough to carry the whole concept and story.

       
    • inquisitormence

      July 9, 2014 at 5:26 pm

      HA! I know that one all too well…

       

Leave a Reply

