RSS

Pony Stories 179

10 Jul

I was just going to leave the number I missed a skipped number, but then the OCD kicked in and must have every number! So pretend this is happening like four days ago. Today will be a handful of stories I read at different times, but they are pretty much a matching set so they go into this time-displayed post.

Now for a question. I’m fairly sure that at least a few of you have been to MLP conventions. I go to a lot of different fandom/nerdy type conventions and it’s always fun to see how the demographics shift from fandom to fandom. Haven’t gotten out to a pony con yet, so figured I’d see if anyone could answer this. How was the gender/age demographics at the pony con you went to?

Quite Ready for Another Adventure by Tamar

This got me right int he feels. So, I found it pretty good. It’s a future fanfic that does a good job depicting the end of Twilight’s life and some of the changes that have happened since the show. Though the focus is more on the immediate personal and emotional impact of things than the timeline/worldbuilding.

Who are you and what happened to Rainbow Dash?! by Damocles23

This isn’t very good. It’s a shallow clop fic. Pinkie Pie is written poorly and, well, I should just stick with this isn’t very good. About 3/4ths clop. To be clear, I didn’t have very high expectations going into this, but thought I’d get at least a few kind of funny jokes. Which did not happen.

Broken Monotony by DawnFade

Eh, as much as I’ve enjoyed AJ & Soarin stories, this was not a good example of one. Neither of them were all that well written and the story in general was a bit flat.

Upon Reflection by Obselescence

Not this author’s best work. Wasn’t bad, just was missing that spark of something. It’s pretty much an internal monologue of Twilight Sparkle getting lost in a philosophical concept.

Anxiety by Bad_Seed_72

This was okay. Just seemed a bit, I don’t know, a bit flat? Went on too long or didn’t get the characters just right. So recommended, but with a vague caveat. Maybe just felt off because nothing really happens. I’ve read stories a quarter this long with twice the emotional heft to them

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 10, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

4 responses to “Pony Stories 179

  1. xjuggernaughtx

    July 10, 2014 at 7:02 pm

    When I went to BABScon, there was quite a spread. There were more women than I expected, truth be told, but it was still probably a 70/30 percent split with males making up the majority. Quite a few more children than I anticipated, but still a low fraction. I’d say the average attendee was a male that was in their early twenties.

     
    • Griffin

      July 10, 2014 at 7:05 pm

      Thanks. Always nice to have actual data. Yummy, yummy data.

       
      • bchandler2

        July 14, 2014 at 9:49 am

        As a fellow babscon attendee, I can confirm this. You should TOTES come next year!

         
      • Griffin

        July 14, 2014 at 5:12 pm

        On the other side of the country from where I am, sadly.

         

Leave a Reply

