RSS

Most Dangerous Game Stories #04

17 Jul

Statistics Trivia time. Recently I’ve gotten visitors from Spain, Canada, and Australia. Plus the USA and the UK, but those are the boring majority. Isn’t the internet wonderful? All over the globe people have enough time to read words talking about horse words based on a cartoon show. I bet we can layer this a few more levels deeper before the singularity hits. Quick, someone do a podcast about a convention panel about ponyfic reviewers. I bet we can make it horse words all the way down and show those turtles who’s boss. This intro blathering is so much more random when I do it in the middle of the night when my brain is half-functional.

Fingers by WiseFireCracker

Writing is a little rough, but the emotion comes through anyway. I ended up liking this one more than I expected at the start. Just long enough that we get the emotional impact, but not so long that it drags.

Happily Ever After… by spideremblembrony

This would make a really good episode. A lot of it would have been better with a visual presentation. Still, interesting concept and decent writing. I like how not everything gets explained. Leaving it up to the reader to fill in the blanks. This one is worth a read.

Outlier by FanOfMostEverything

Eh, this isn’t badly written. There just isn’t much here. Better writing than The Mare In Black but not nearly as interesting.

Trial by Flower by AugieDog

Decent story. Would make a typical episode of the show, in a ‘day in the life of a citizen’ sort of way. If the show was allowed any real romance, that is. Does have a monster with a wonderful (horrible) pun name.

In Times of Need by Pascoite

This is probably a typical story the contest was looking for. It’s a really cliche plot, but it has very good execution of said cliche. So, not that amazing, but I liked it. Plus it had an actual plot. I find that I enjoy a HiE story with an actual plot instead of the entire focus being on just the fact that there is a human in Equestria.

To Love the Sun by Magello

An interesting story. Not sure I would call it a good one. Though I would use it as an example that second person perspective can work for a story. Above average for the contest, but only average in general. Still, even though I think we disagree on how good the story is, I have to agree with PresentPerfect on the use of second-person perspective. This is how you do it right.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 17, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

Leave a Reply

