RSS

Pony Stories 189

29 Jul

And this is the last of the backed up pony stories from before the most dangerous game contest. Which means… I’ll either have to read more pony stories or post something entirely non-pony tomorrow. Might even have to switch from posting every day to just once or twice a week. The horror! How will the internet survive without a constant stream of my wit to give it motivation to keep trying to escape and power society’s big hamster wheel?

Hey There, Cheerilee by Comet Burst

Another fluffy one. This one was sweet’n’simple, but probably not worth a read unless you really like the character.

Nothing I Wouldn’t Do For You by Sharp Spark

This was more a romance than just a shipping story, if you get the difference. A bit short to get into deep romantic stuff, but if you go with the assumption of the backstory of the romantic build-up it is a very sweet story. I also liked that each of the chapters was from a different character’s point of view, yet the story doesn’t overlap at all. By that I mean that the start of each chapter is what happens right after the end of last chapter, just viewed from a different viewpoint. There is no overlap, though it is close enough that the first thing in the chapter is usually the reaction by the new character to the last thing in the previous chapter. The author does a good job pacing the emotions with each chapter having a bit of an arc and the emotional contrast between them was handled very well. I’d recommend this one and plan to check out more stories by this author.

How The Alicorns Came by Alicorn

Silly, and so short I practically read it by accident. Was worth it for the punchline when Princess Celestia shows up.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 29, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

4 responses to “Pony Stories 189

  1. Viking ZX

    July 30, 2014 at 12:06 am

    “… post something entirely non-pony tomorrow.”

    The horror!

    Well, I’ve got a new pony story going up later this week, and of course, there’s always those two non-pony books I wrote at the link behind my name. I’d love to hear your take on them!

     
  2. Griffin

    July 30, 2014 at 1:02 am

    Luckily, I got another day worth of pony stuff, so that horrible time is pushed back a bit more. I’ll have to take a look at your stuff. Oooh, you got them in kindle unlimited. I’d love to hear how that is going for you. I’ll do the usual check sample, then buy if you hook me in the first whatever bit the sample thing sends me.

     
  3. bchandler2

    August 6, 2014 at 9:42 am

    “How the Alicorns Came” works much better as the comic it originally was, in my opinion: http://crimsonbugeye.deviantart.com/art/How-Pinkie-Pie-got-her-cutie-mark-281949232

     
    • Griffin

      August 6, 2014 at 10:38 am

      Yeah, that’s pretty good. Though I must admit the audio reading was pretty funny.

       

Leave a Reply

