RSS

Pony Stories 192

04 Aug

Saw Guardians of the Galaxy on Friday. It was really good. I’d point at it as a perfect example of a fun action movie. Not really all that complex, lots of fun, but with just a touch of deep here and there. It’s not a mind-bender, but it’s not just a empty fluff piece either. Each of the characters is a bit more than two dimensional. Sure, most of the time it’s like 2.5D, but that little bit counts for a lot compared to some big blockbuster movies that struggle to have a single character that’s 2D. Plus the plot is more than just evil guy cackling for no reason against pure virtuous hero types. Guardians of the Galaxy is about a bad guy who has a somewhat reasonable motivation, but goes way too far for revenge. Think someone who nukes a city because someone in the city stole his car and then the police simply refused to help him. Sure, he’s got a right to be mad, but nuking the whole city is a bit much. On the other side you’ve got a bunch of self-centered jerks who basically get dragged kicking and screaming until they decide ‘hey, maybe we could not be jerks’. I think that’s why I liked this movie. Well, besides the amazing special effects. I could not tell between makeup, props, and cg by sight alone. Sure, I knew intellectually what was what, but it was only by thinking about it. Anyway, I liked that even though this was just a fun action movie, nothing was ever one dimensional. Everything had more than one layer. Sure, most of the time it was two really thin layers, but as I said earlier that still counts for a lot.

Below the break is pony stuff.

Why Me? by Viking ZX

Another pretty good story from an author I like. This is a little rambling. It could have been tighter, but at no point would I call it padded or stretched out. It does have a really good version of Discord that I quite enjoyed. Plus a bit of worldbuilding about the kind of existence Discord is that was neat. Plus just a tiny glimpse of where he might have come from.

The Brief Reign of Princess Twily by Forthwith

This was funny as heck. Sleep-deprived young Twilight Sparkle overthrowing Princess Celestia and having to deal with the royal court when she’s been up for three days straight and running on caffeine and sugar. Both adorable and hilarious. I’d recommend this one.

At the moment of writing this, the story has occupied the #1 spot on fimfictions all time top rated stories list. I’d say it deserves the most popular spot at least as much as the other stories I’ve seen there, and it actually deserves it more than some of the ones I’ve seen. As much as I liked Sunny Skies, it should not be that highly rated. I’d put Brief Reign in the same general category as Hell of a Time. Which is currently #3 on the same list.

I Want to Dance with Somepony by ThunderChaserCreate

Princess Celestia and Twilight Sparkle shipping story. Decent writing on a technical level, and it’s got a good character voice for Twilight, but otherwise just kind of rambles. Lots of stuff that seems disconnected. If you really like that particular pairing and have read all the other good stories, this wouldn’t be a bad one to read. If you are kind of neutral or dislike that pairing, you should avoid this one.

Last Night, Pinkie Pie Exploded by Selbi

A dialogue-only story, which I usually enjoy. This one was pretty funny. Didn’t really have a character voice, most of the time I forgot it was Rarity doing the speaking. Though I enjoyed the nameless police officer. I’d recommend this for a short dose of fun.

Friendship is Intergalactic by Kaelzoroden

An incomplete story, but my curiosity was caught at it getting mentioned over at PresentPerfect’s fimfiction blog and I wanted to give it a read. It was pretty neat. Cool concepts, a nice comparison of magic vs tech for spaceships and interactions. I’m sad that it apparently isn’t being updated, the second chapter was posted a year ago. It is by the same author as Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Throne Room, which I also enjoyed. Also it was interesting that there was a changeling as part of the crew. I would love to find out the backstory behind that. You could write an entire story about just that character getting to that position.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 4, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

4 responses to “Pony Stories 192

  1. inquisitormence

    August 4, 2014 at 7:35 am

    Rocket’s alcohol-fuelled tantrum is one of the best single-shot characterisations I can recall. The film did put the occasional foot firmly into too-silly-for-its-own-good territory, but by no means enough to actually mar an otherwise-excellent piece of storytelling.

    I thought Quill’s flashback to his mother characterised the whole story very well. It isn’t pivotal. It isn’t necessary. The character doesn’t sudden grow or learn in anything more than an organic and incidental. It’s natural. It’s relateable.

    Stuff happens and characters react. None of it came off as forced, and it allowed a much deeper sense of empathy that Hollywood’s more ham-fisted attempts at heroes.

    Not quite The LEGO Movie, but Guardians of the Galaxy is definitely something quite special within it’s genre.

    And dancing Groots are going to sell like hot-cakes.

     
    • Griffin

      August 4, 2014 at 8:04 am

      Agreed.

       
    • bchandler2

      August 5, 2014 at 7:40 pm

      That you like the Lego Movie gives me hope that you actually have a soul. 😉

       
      • Griffin

        August 5, 2014 at 8:13 pm

        I gambled my soul away in high school. What I have is good taste in movies, and The Lego Movie was a incredible movie both effects and story-wise. So don’t be too sure about him.

         

Leave a Reply

