RSS

Book: One Drink

05 Aug

I had an interesting thought a few days ago. I was listening to a writing podcast (Writing Excuses) and they were talking about worldbuilders disease. Where an author spends so much time imagining and creating a world that they never get around to writing the actual story. A common problem for writers who want to write science fiction and/or fantasy. I quite like worldbuilding myself, and I suck at plots, so guess where my creative energy likes to go. However, my thought was this: I realized that it isn’t that big a problem anymore. Or, well, it doesn’t have to be. Back in the previous century (or millenium) submitting to a publisher was the only way to get published and they liked proper stories. It’s what sold. If you wanted worldbuilding stuff, you might try to get hired by a tabletop RPG company or something. However, with self-publishing and ebooks these days things have changed. I bet you could actually just build up a world and sell it. I mean, you probably couldn’t make a living off that, but I could craft a interesting and complex world, organize and format it really nice, and put it up as a amazon ebook to sell it. So worldbuilder’s disease is not as big a problem as it used to be. Of course you still need to learn how to present it in a nice way, to write concisely and clearly to be either an entertaining read or a easy read. Just doing a world instead of a story doesn’t let you side-step all the really important stuff. After I finish up the two short stories I’m working on I might actually give that a try.

Below the break, a short review of the short story One Drink by Max Florschutz.

One Drink by Max Florschutz

Sadly, I didn’t manage to finish this one. Only got about 34% through it. Good news is that it wasn’t bad writing that drove me away. Bad news, it wasn’t good enough writing to keep me from getting bored. It just seemed very generic and bland. Which is odd. I’ve read other stories from this author that I’ve really enjoyed. My advice to the author would be the same as the notes I keep getting from my editor. Try to minimize the use of -ing words. Cutting out as many -ly words would probably help as well, but I noticed less of that. It just seemed very dull and in need of tighter editing/prose.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 5, 2014 in Books 2014, Reviews

 

3 responses to “Book: One Drink

  1. Viking ZX

    August 5, 2014 at 10:38 am

    Well, given that it was something I wrote almost two years ago, I can’t say I’m too surprised. It definitely has its weak areas.

    Give Dead Silver a shot. It’s more recent and might be more to your taste. Then again, it is still first-person detective noir, so it might run afoul of similar lack of interest.

     
    • Griffin

      August 5, 2014 at 11:21 am

      I’ve actually liked that sort of story before. Might give Dead Silver a shot, see if it has anything that grabs me. While I am waiting for the next Dusk Guard story to come out, anyway.

       
      • Viking ZX

        August 6, 2014 at 2:37 pm

        Well, like you said, you found the word choices bland and boring. I won’t dispute that (I wrote One Drink before I even wrote the Dusk Guard), it’s definitely got some weaknesses. If you’re up for it, I would ask that you leave a review on the Amazon page too. Even if it lowers the overall rating, I’m always happy to get more reviews out there from a variety of readers.

        And yeah, see if Dead Silver is more palatable. I have no idea if it’ll run into the same problems for you, but hey, it’s worth finding out. That first ten percent is free.

         

Leave a Reply

