RSS

Pony Stories 193

06 Aug

Another theme post today. Decided to read all the stories that sounded interesting from a single author. It’s an author who has written two stories I’ve really enjoyed, and I’ve been following his blog for a while now. I know he sometimes reads my blog, so hopefully he will read this, or else my feelings might be crushed. Or, you know, he’s still on vacation.

The Princess and the Rose by Chris

Ouch. Not too heavy, but got me right in the feels. Didn’t like this one as much as To Make a Spark, or Wyrmslan, but this was still well-written. Could have been a bit longer though. We get just enough to make Rose a character, but only a tiny glimpse.

The Showmare’s Tale by Chris

Chris is really good at writing mythic type stuff. Legends, fairy tales, that sort of thing. The back and forth between story and present in this one was a little distracting in places, but overall I liked this one. Plus it gets points for having a earth pony named Sunny Days in it. Plus I always like reading a story with a well-done version of Trixie. I’d recommend this one.

Bantam Tales by Chris

A bunch of tiny little short stories. All of them fun. Well, most of them fun. The one written in verse was more serious, and as mentioned poetry is not my thing. Still, all of these were quite good. It didn’t have the same breadth of genre or mood like other short story collections I’ve read, but I’d still highly recommend this to anyone who likes fun horsewords.

Letters from a Senior to a Junior Changeling by Chris

First off, this was very well written. It is a good example of story by letter. A one sided conversation where I did feel that the other side of it existed. However, my one complaint was that the changelings here just weren’t alien enough. Maybe it’s because I just read an article about how a big corporation is running their customer service division into the ground, but the changelings in this story could easily just be big business CEOs trying to squeeze another bit of profit out of the company. I see the level of emotional manipulation in this story as well inside the standard human experience. I like the really alien and/or fantasy creature changelings though. Hiveminds or strange powers or exotic origins, that sort of thing. It’s a little unfair, but the story For Whom We Are Hungry was much more to my tastes. I really got a feel that the changeling in that had a very different viewpoint and perceptions.

However, I would still recommend this one. I did think of a interesting analogy that almost made it work. If Equestria is the utopia where you only have the positive emotions of the human experience and there really isn’t any major problems, then the changelings in this story are the flip side. The human experience of the negative emotions and you have to deal with constant stress and trouble. Looking at it as the two are mirror images, each based on one side of the human spectrum, is kind of cool.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on August 6, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

14 responses to “Pony Stories 193

  1. bchandler2

    August 6, 2014 at 8:54 am

    I feel bad that I haven’t read any of Chris’s stuff. (He hasn’t read any of my stuff either, so I’d say we’re even, but we both know who’s the better writer.) This leads me to my question: what would you say is a good story of his to start with?

     
    • Inquisitor M

      August 6, 2014 at 9:10 am

      I would suggest To Make a Spark or Going Up. The former is probably Chris’s best fairytale-style piece and a safer bet for a result, whereas the latter approaches a more child-like fantasy very much embracing everything that MLP is meant to be and will melt almost anyone less jaded than I (I kinda liked it, just not in the way others did).

      There’s a reading for Going Up, too, if you fancy that.

      Moderator edit: There, links all cleaned up. I think.

       
      • Inquisitor M

        August 6, 2014 at 9:10 am

        Lord I hate not having a preview or edit function.

         
      • Griffin

        August 6, 2014 at 9:15 am

        Want me to clean it up? I’ve got all-powerful mod editing abilities.

         
      • Inquisitor M

        August 6, 2014 at 9:32 am

        It’s just missing a closing tag is all. If you could clean it up so that the link to the dramatic reading stands out like it should, that’d be grand.

         
    • Griffin

      August 6, 2014 at 9:18 am

      To start with? My two favorites of his were To Make a Spark and Wyrmlysan.

       
  2. Inquisitor M

    August 6, 2014 at 8:57 am

    Your issue with Letters from a Junior to a Senior Changeling are likely a result of the source material. I have no idea if you’re familliar with The Screwtape letters upon which it is based, but it is that very adherence to its root that stopped it getting onto EqD. Frankly, I thought that was a bit absurd, by then we’ve trodden that ground plenty of times before, haven’t we?

    The use of the Elements was the only thing that really put me off, while the extremely dark nature just infringed on my engagement. It’s still very well written and definitely something worth anyone’s time.

     
    • Griffin

      August 6, 2014 at 9:16 am

      Sounds plausible, since I’ve never ever heard of the Screwtape Letters before. But yes, very well written.

       
  3. xjuggernaughtx

    August 6, 2014 at 5:55 pm

    Good choice. Chris writes quality fiction.

     
    • Griffin

      August 6, 2014 at 6:38 pm

      He does! But mostly found it funny to post a bunch of reviews of his stories while he’s away from the internet.

       
      • xjuggernaughtx

        August 6, 2014 at 8:45 pm

        Good job ignoring this very flattering post, Chris! Real nice!

         
      • Griffin

        August 6, 2014 at 8:50 pm

        I know! It’s almost as if he doesn’t check my blog every five minutes even on vacation, waiting for me to say nice things about him.

        Then again, maybe that’s why he writes the insightful in-depth reviews and I just do short little bits and the list of other people’s stuff.

         
      • Chris

        August 12, 2014 at 8:56 am

        Ack! I’m a bad person! Forgive me, juggy and Griffin!

        Glad you enjoyed everything you read, and thank you for the comments. Reading a whole post of comments on my fanfics made my morning, it did.

         
      • Griffin

        August 12, 2014 at 10:52 am

        Cool. Figured you might like a little boost to counteract the usual post-vacation slump. Assuming you have the post-vacation slump of just kinda bluh just after a long trip.

         

Leave a Reply

