RSS

Pony Stories 199

15 Aug

Another day, another half dozen pony fan fiction reviews. Hmmm… Next post of my reviews is 200. I should count up how many stories I’ve covered. Maybe even get the counts of all the other reviewers on the big master review list as well, see where everyone’s scores are. That’ll make up for only having two reviews to put in the 200th post.

Forced Hooves by DarqFox

This wasn’t a bad version of the Nightmare Moon event. Just way too short. With a bit of build-up it could have been powerful, but there is just so much unexplained that doesn’t fit with what we know from the show. Recommended if you like reading versions of the Nightmare Moon situation, but if you aren’t a huge fan of that type of story you can skip this. Then again, it’s decent for how long it is so you might want to give it a try anyway.

Twilight Sparkle Plays With Dolls by Cyanide

Short silliness. I enjoyed it, chuckled more than once. The final punchline was pretty good too.

I Promise by Rose Quartz

This is not very good. You should avoid this one. Hope the author practices until they get better.

Naked Lunch by Estee

Starts out as something resembling a situational comedy. Transitions into something a lot more meaningful. I quite liked this on several levels. The ending was, perhaps, a little weak. Still, I’d give this one a good recommendation.

Two neat things I enjoyed in this story. One, love finding more governmental worldbuilding. Both the little bits of the Immigration department and the little bits about the court system. I actually really like the idea of two courts, each one handling different types of laws. The second thing is that it shows a unicorn’s magic field reacting to their emotional state. A field holding a newspaper is described as spiking and flaring up. Never thought about how that might express itself visually through a unicorn’s magic. Not just the more extreme losing control, but the idea that unicorns have ‘body language’ in their magical auras in the same way pegasi have body language with their wings.

Edit: Oh, and it’s got a very minor crossover with five hundred little murders, which was a nice touch.

Unrequited Bliss by SanityCheck8080

Decently written, fairly disturbing premise, but it felt kind of flat to me. Might just be that I don’t find that particular situation as horrifying as some other people do, so it didn’t manage to have as big an emotional impact on me that it was aiming for. Also doesn’t feel really pony. I have a hard time picturing Princess Celestia even experimenting with what we see in this story.

The New Friends by Fryguy

Very badly written. Halfway through I suspected this was a crackfic or trollfic, but I’m fairly sure that it’s just some inexperienced author who simply has few writing skills. To use an analogy: this story is a ten year old describing a movie he saw once.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 15, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

5 responses to “Pony Stories 199

  1. inquisitormence

    August 15, 2014 at 6:58 pm

    Woot! (not GROOT)

    Summer comp entry is finally up. Are you going to trawl through these like you did the Most Dangerous Competition?

     
  2. Griffin

    August 15, 2014 at 10:29 pm

    Probably not, unless a list of them shows up in my fimfiction follow/news feed.

     
    • inquisitormence

      August 16, 2014 at 4:41 am

      Well, there is a FimFiction group that lists them all.

       
    • Present Perfect

      August 16, 2014 at 6:48 am

      Don’t do it, Griffin! One of us should live! D:

       
      • Griffin

        August 16, 2014 at 7:03 am

        Pretty sure my laziness will save me this time. Like I said, only gonna even think about it if a easy list shows up in my fimfiction follow feed. That’s why I did the Dangerous Game after all. This time I think I’ll just wait for the reviews to come in and just read the best ones.

        Besides, this contest has a lot more stories than Most Dangerous Game did.

         

Leave a Reply

