RSS

Pony Stories 207

25 Aug

Ah, internet nerd discussions. So trivial and yet we can’t help ourselves. It’s what fandom is built on, in a manner of speaking. I just need to remind myself to stop trying to convince people of things on the internet in a comment section of something. It almost never goes anywhere. Plus the urge to do that is a symptom of my brain trying to eat itself. Means I need to focus outward on either reading more things or doing more productive writing. Mostly because my commenting on fimfiction is pretty much linked to how bored I am, and boredom is a state of mind that I need to break out of more often.

Branch Management by PresentPerfect

Fun adventure story. Nothing too complex, but I enjoyed it. Plus it has a wonderful last line. Doesn’t hit the tone exactly, but could easily be adapted to be an episode of the show.

Friendship is Optimal: All the Myriad Worlds by Eakin

This isn’t a new story, but he put up a new chapter of it and I wanted to draw attention to it. Was short, but pretty good. A world in the Friendship is Optimal universe that is a writer’s perfect world. Probably has some of the most extreme and disturbing, even to me, mental adjustments I’ve run across. Mostly just in how casual it is. The story itself is somewhat sweet and as an author I could actually see the appeal of it.

Dinky’s First Kill by PresentPerfect

I’ve heard good things about this story and I have to say that it lives up to the (minor) hype I’ve run into. A very well written story. Simple, but perfect length and scope. I’d recommend this to just about anyone. This story really captures the whole irrational fear thing, even if Dinky doesn’t understand that it is irrational yet. I’m not scare of spiders, but I recognized the same thought patterns as something I’ve experienced with some of my own phobias.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 25, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

2 responses to “Pony Stories 207

  1. Present Perfect

    August 25, 2014 at 7:15 am

    I think you’re the first person to actually say they like the last line of Branch Management; usually if anyone mentions it, it’s to say they hate it. XD

    Thanks for all the attention to my fics lately. 😀 I really appreciate it!

     
    • Griffin

      August 25, 2014 at 7:19 am

      Really? I thought the joke was pretty funny.

      As for the other bit, the post of all your stories pushed me into reading several more of your stories that I’ve had on my to-read list for a while now.

       

Leave a Reply

