RSS

Pony Stories 209

27 Aug

I got reminded of the movie Transcendence over in the comment section of InquisitorM’s latest blogpost over on fimfiction. Augh. I don’t say this about maybe things, since I think it’s a fairly powerful word that shouldn’t be overused, but I hate that movie. I consider my religion to be Transhumanism (which is a whole topic in itself) so that movie was basically a two hour badly written insult to everything I believe in. I was mad at that movie for several days after seeing it in a theater, and was ranting at it for several hours that day. Two of the ‘best’ parts? The first was that taking out all computers and technology in the world results in basically a ‘eh, we are better off without it’ situation. Instead of, you know, the global anarchy and mass death tolls the collapse of civilization would cause. But that’s okay, because the movie opens with a quaint little California town where they use old keyboards as doorstops. The second was the movie, and this is literally in the movie, the big finale is when the ‘heroes’ inject someone with a virus and then have them infect the computer AI to defeat it. Yes, the movie literally doesn’t see any different in biologic viruses and computer viruses. They are treated interchangeable. The movie is not subtle at all. AI bad, simple living good. Everyone is a caricature, not a archetype, but a parody of cliche. Basically I agree with this review over on the Escapist website, except I think he was a little too soft on the movie.

No real reason for all that. Just needed to vent. Several short pony reviews below the break.

Reading Rainbow by Corejo

Story is pretty good. Rainbow Dash reading a story to a temporarily blind Twilight Sparkle. Most of it is actually the story Rainbow is reading, with just a few little asides around it for the actual events. Which is handled great, the author does a pretty good job expressing how Rainbow Dash would read the story. The best compliment I can give is that the story in the story feels very much like an actual Shel Silvertein work, and that’s a good thing. Granted, it’s been a while since I’ve read any of his work, but the feeling was the same as my memories. If to a lesser degree.

The Companion Deception by Severine

Ouch. This was actually painful for me to read. If you enjoy utterly nonsensically bad writing, you may want to give this a look. I’d recommend staying far away from it myself.

The Best by Squeak-anon

A fluffy piece. There really isn’t anything there. Could have been any two Pegasus foals. If you dislike empty slice-of-life stories, stay far away. I normally enjoy fairly light slice-of-life stuff and I found this pretty empty and fluff.

How the West Was Won by Fon Shaolin

One of the most poorly rated stories on my to-read list. Now that I’ve read it, yeah, it’s kinda not good. Technically it’s not bad. Probably better with the grammar than I am. Just lacks a real theme and the ending just kinda happens with no real buildup or point. The story just kinda happened, and then it stopped happening.

The Battle of Canterlot by Adjutant Stormy

This is a neat outline/summary of what could be a cool story. Had a really forced Lord of the Rings reference that made me laugh. It wasn’t a comedic reference. Plus the end is a little weak. So I’m not sure I’d recommend it, but it wasn’t a waste of time to read. I’d be interested to see the premise/plot actually written out as a novel-length proper story.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on August 27, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

11 responses to “Pony Stories 209

  1. xjuggernaughtx

    August 27, 2014 at 8:43 am

    How is it that poorly-rated stories even end up on your list? Does it just look like an interesting concept despite the reception it’s gotten? Was it on your list before all the negative reviews came in? I’m always curious to know what motivates a reviewer to read something that seems obviously bad.

     
    • Griffin

      August 27, 2014 at 9:46 am

      Mostly it’s just that I don’t pay attention to the rating when looking at the stories. I read the description, look at the cover image, and simply decide from that. Or if I see someone saying something good about it. I like reading stories with interesting ideas in them, often regardless of quality of writing, so if the story description seems like it has a neat idea in it I’ll often give it a chance.

       
      • xjuggernaughtx

        August 27, 2014 at 10:32 am

        I’m vacillating between “that’s really admirable” and “doesn’t that feel like it wastes your time?” I do often times think I should give interesting sounding stories with low ratings a shot, but I almost always get burned. Then again, I almost never like even highly rated stories, so I supposed there wouldn’t be all that much of a difference.

        But it’s cool that you are giving lesser known authors a shot. It’s very difficult for these guys with ten followers to get any kind of visibility, so I applaud it when I see it.

         
      • Griffin

        August 27, 2014 at 11:01 am

        It helps that the majority of stories on my to read list are ones I’ve heard about in other places. So I usually avoid the really bad ones. That was one of the reasons I didn’t get all the way through the Dangerous Game contest stories. Too much exposure to the raw output. It also helps that I’m pretty good at reading story descriptions, as in figuring out if the story is actually good or something I would like. As for the lesser known authors, except for a few times that’s mostly accidental as well. Not really paying attention to how popular or viewed a story/author is either. Heck, half the time I don’t even know the tags the story has since I download them and read them on my kindle a while after I’ve forgotten their fimfic page.

        Waste my time? Eh, not really. Reading any new story is always a somewhat educated guess. I’ve gotten a lot more good than bad out of reading pony fanfic, so just going to keep doing it how I do it until that ratio changes.

         
  2. iisawiisaw

    August 27, 2014 at 1:34 pm

    Wait. The movie actually went with the premise that biological and software viruses are the same thing?

    I had to stop, get up, and walk around the room while my brain tried to process the sheer magnitude of that idiocy.

    I desperately hope that the screenwriter is a snide and condescending schmuck who thinks that his audience are morons. The alternative is that movies are being written by people who don’t have a grade-school grasp of science.

    Oh wait. That would explain a lot, wouldn’t it?

     
    • Griffin

      August 27, 2014 at 1:45 pm

      I will now describe how they defeat the evil AI (who has done nothing but revitalize a dying small town and develop cures for all disease, injury, and disabilities). They grab one of his human minions who he’s enhanced and put radio links in their heads. Our good guys do movie-tech reverse engineering on the minion to develop a virus to shut the AI down. They then (I’m not making this up) inject it into the female love interest’s body and then have her go get uploaded into the AI’s databank, which infects it with a virus to destroy it. Which, as collateral damage, wipes out all digital technology on the planet. That was known collateral damage by the way, and they considered it a regrettable but necessary price to pay to stop the evil AI abomination.

      The only way that makes sense is if the plucky anti-AI heroes understood the nanotech enhancement and upload processes better than the AI that invented them. Processes that they have never seen and only had a single example of the results.

       
      • iisawiisaw

        August 27, 2014 at 2:02 pm

        And the “collateral” damage of the billions of human lives lost through the collapse of our technological civilization was okay with them? *walks around the room again* Wow.

         
      • Griffin

        August 27, 2014 at 3:21 pm

        Oh, you are mistaken. Killing all the computers just brings us back to a simpler folksy lifestyle where we end up using the worthless plastic keyboards as wedges to hold doors open. Wasn’t any real violence or anarchy or anything. A year after those events everything is just fine.

        Also, what else could they do? That evil AI abomination might do more evil things like solve poverty and clean up pollution! I’m not kidding in that the only thing the AI had done was leave human society alone and go into seclusion to perfect a method of growing food anywhere, cure diseases, and fix any injury of the human body.

         
      • inquisitormence

        August 27, 2014 at 2:56 pm

        Yeah. That actually might be worse than Lucy.

         
      • iisawiisaw

        August 27, 2014 at 4:46 pm

        My feet are starting to hurt from all this walking! So, (for example) the 4 million Angelinos just pried up the pavement and grew food watered with the tears they shed over their dead iphones? Yeah.

        How the heck can there still be flat-earthers in this day and age, and how can they be non-marginal enough to be writing movies? I was interested (but not hopeful) when I saw the trailer for this one, so I’ve very glad I happened to miss it.

         
      • Griffin

        August 27, 2014 at 5:06 pm

        Well, the coffee shop (I think?) we see in the second-to-last scene seems to be doing well. So apparently they have enough infrastructure to have quaint little cafes even after the computers all get nuked.

        So yeah, I went into the movie hoping for at least a mediocre scifi film about a topic fairly close to my heart. Came out hating it.

         

Leave a Reply

