RSS

Pony Stories 212

30 Aug

Yeah, I’ve probably spent a little too much money on commissioning pony fan art last month or two. This ‘having money’ thing takes some getting used to. The one thing living just below the poverty line can’t teach you. How do deal with fanart commission addiction. A phrase I used simply because those two words rhymed. A handful of last-minute ponyfic reviews below the break.

Through The Equestrian Gate by rockyrobben

Not a lot of pony in this story, but that’s kind of the point. Is a interesting story. Might have to steal the basic concept from it for a story of mine. Not that it is wildly original or unique, but it has its own flair. Good story as well. I’d recommend this one. It certainly deserves more views than it’s got, that’s for sure.

Tik-Tik and the Extremely Brief Infiltration by BloodBunny67

This was very funny. The writing style not quite to my taste, but was still worth a read. I’d recommend this one if you want a bit of light comedy.

Eclipsed by InquisitorM

Quite good. Another excellent example of the author’s ability to invoke emotions with a minimum of words. This might be my second favorite story by this author. Then again, I’m pretty sure I’ve only read four, so that’s not a huge thing. I would highly recommend this one.

Exit Through Canterlot by TheBrianJ

A fairly popular story. One that earns most of it’s popularity. Some of the beginning and middle was a little rough, but I suspect that had more to do with my mood over the last week and not the story itself. Wanted to smack sense into the main character for a large portion of the story, but most of that was Octavia being a jerk so it was probably intentional. The story also jumps a bit. The character arc here could have used a little more time to develop and unfold. Yet I can see that leading to the pacing being slow and sluggish. So it’s kind of a toss-up. The only other complaint I had is that it didn’t seem like the characters were ponies. The overall feel was very MLP, in my opinion. I could see it taking place in Canterlot, the characters were all themselves, all that. Yet the body language and physical actions of the characters really felt more like humans than ponies. A minor quibble, but it was pretty much a constant thought that never really went away. Despite that, I would recommend this one. Took me a while to get around to reading it, and a while to get through it, but when I got to the end I was satisfied and wanted it to keep going.

Oh, and it gets major major points for being a story with both Vinyl Scratch and Octavia as roommates and not a single romantic incident or emotion was expressed. Close good friends all the way. Was refreshing. I was disappointed that Octavia never got to hear the mane six’s side of the story involving the Grand Galloping Gala. It really would have only fit in at the end, but it would have helped the sense of closure of that particular thread. That the gala was pretty much the worst night of their lives as well, but it was being with friends afterwards that made it so wonderful for them. I wanted Octavia to hear that the night was not only a disaster for her, but it was for them as well. A bit of common ground.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 30, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

5 responses to “Pony Stories 212

  1. Present Perfect

    August 30, 2014 at 7:26 am

    Oh my god, ETC has no ScratchTavia shipping? THE LORD HATH COME

    Also, I apologize for the workload I just gave you. :B

     
    • Griffin

      August 30, 2014 at 7:00 pm

      Eh, I knew the risks when I suggested you do one giant review post. I’ll just absorb it into the big master review list in chunks. Who needs sleep?

      Also, all the stories are already added to the list thanks to InquisitorM. So all I have to do is link them all to your post. Which is pretty easy.

       
    • Griffin

      August 30, 2014 at 8:10 pm

      The no shipping thing? I was honestly surprised. There was the occasional scene that seemed like it was leading to shipping, but then it turned out to just be a ‘they are friends’ moment. I’d almost forgotten that those could be used by themselves and no as a clumsy set-up for romance.

       
  2. Pascoite Fics

    September 1, 2014 at 12:51 pm

    I stay away from Octavia/Vinyl fics because I hate the fandom take on their relationship, but I took a flyer on one recently that did not ship them at all, which was a big factor in why I liked it. Not finished yet, in fact, there’s still a lot of the story to be written. It’s called “Postclassical,” if you care to check it out.

     
    • Griffin

      September 1, 2014 at 4:00 pm

      I’ll add it to my to-read list.

       

Leave a Reply

