RSS

Pony Story 214

02 Sep

Need more backlog. Luckily, I’ve got a train ride to D&D today that should let me read a couple of stories. Speaking of D&D, today is when we start the official new campaign using the 5th edition rules. I’m pretty excited. Been wanting a long-term campaign for a while and hopefully this will scratch my itch. The large number of people playing (8-12 and sometimes more) kind of limits a lot of the stuff I enjoy in D&D games, but it’s still fun. Be interesting to see how our 1st level characters do. Anyway, below the break is the single pony fanfic review I’ve got for you today.

Moonlight Palaver by Carabas

This was really good. Lots of fun little worldbuilding bits. Fun and interesting characters that were all fairly well developed. This has gotten good reviews elsewhere and I’m going to add to those. I’d recommend this one.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 2, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

4 responses to “Pony Story 214

  1. xjuggernaughtx

    September 2, 2014 at 10:17 am

    I miss playing AD&D regularly, but since all of my friends have children from two to six right now, it’s just impossible. We tried to play Pathfinder for a bit, but half the group would always find a way to flake out somehow. After a while, we just gave up.

    I haven’t looked at 5th edition yet. Fourth was… interesting…

     
    • Griffin

      September 2, 2014 at 8:21 pm

      5th is more like AD&D than 4th. Really, 5th is a pretty good blend of 2nd and 3rd. I’m liking it. Still prefer rules-light systems, but you game with the group you’ve got, not the group you wish you had.

       
  2. Present Perfect

    September 2, 2014 at 5:50 pm

    Every time I think about roleplaying, I just think, “But I could be using that time to write”. Even though I don’t use it to write, the guilt still hits. I miss D&D. 😦

     
    • Griffin

      September 2, 2014 at 8:20 pm

      I know both of those feelings. Was without a gaming group for about three years. Getting to game once a week is keeping me from moving across the country at the moment.

      I’m also very familiar with the whole ‘but I should’ but then I don’t. You get both regret and guilt, two for one.

       

Leave a Reply

