RSS

Pony Stories 217

06 Sep

Alright, I think I’ve got my aimless internet browsing and hanging out in chat room bad habits under control. Now all I have to do is stop playing minecraft and I’ll be productive once more! Might even get a story out in a month or so, assuming the cover art gets done. Until then, two pony fan fiction reviews below the break.

Windfall by Warren Hutch

A decent story. Some good writing, a bit too much forced excitement. Fairly typical plot. Fluttershy and Big Mac’s first foal being born. I’d say this is fairly average fan fiction in tone, a bit above average in quality. Good enough that I’ll be getting around to reading the sequel sooner rather than later. Though the sequel currently holds the spot of longest story on my to read list. Which is why I haven’t gotten to it so far. Oh, the one bad bit about the writing is that this story has the worst Lavender Unicorn Syndrome I think I’ve ever seen. So if you are sensitive to that sort of thing, probably should avoid this one. I don’t mind it that much and even I had trouble telling which character was doing what in a scene or two.

Bright Stars & Dark Clouds by Fuzzyfurvert

Cool worldbuilding idea, cloud observatory. Plus the idea that Princess Celestia was preparing/hoping for Luna’s return. Aside from the prophecy/hero stuff. Just little things like building an observatory for her in the thousand years she was gone. As for the story, it’s a bit basic. Writing needs a bit of polishing. The random bits and pieces at the end would have been better arranged into some kind of order. Go ahead and read this if you are a big Princess Luna & Twilight Sparkle shipping fan, but otherwise you can give this a pass. However, reading it is okay too. I’d say this is about average in quality, and a bit shallow in theme and flavor.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 6, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

4 responses to “Pony Stories 217

  1. Present Perfect

    September 6, 2014 at 3:58 pm

    Windfall’s sequel still stands as the one story I couldn’t get through for reasons I don’t really fathom. It was an interesting future fic based on an old movie that I really like. Yet for some reason, I just couldn’t keep my attention on it, and I gave it up before I even reached the halfway point. I dunno why.

     
    • Griffin

      September 6, 2014 at 4:49 pm

      I’m about 20% into it at the moment and I can guess why you didn’t finish it. LUS, word choice, and choppy pacing. Which I will expand, a little anyway, when I actually write up my review. I’m not sure I’m going to make it all the way to the end either. At this point I’m mostly curious in how the premise/plot is going to be stretched out over such a long story.

       
  2. Professor Whooves

    September 8, 2014 at 1:28 am

    I made it through “Windfall”, but I can’t remember anything about it. I gave “Earth & Sky” a glance before moving on.

     
    • Griffin

      September 8, 2014 at 2:23 am

      Doesn’t surprise me. Nothing too memorable in it.

       

Leave a Reply

