RSS

Pony Story 218

07 Sep

I had something witty to put here. Then I forgot it, so perhaps it wasn’t all that witty. Anyway, only one story for the review docket today. Still trying to slog through Earth & Sky. I suspect it will end up as a did not finish in tomorrow’s post. Which is weird, because I’m more or less enjoying the story. Below the break is a single story review and a bit extra to pad out the post size.

The Great Equestrian Novel by Syeekoh

Fun story and well executed. No real deep ideas or concepts, but a fun fluff piece. Call it a tasty popcorn fanfic. I’d recommend this to anyone looking for a brief and light read.


Hmmm… Really light in the content department today. Guess it’s time for the old standby of sharing a piece of headcanon. Still waiting for my pony rpg setting book to get edited so I can polish it up, but here’s another little taste:

I’m not sure where I got this idea, or if it’s entirely mine or inspired by something I read elsewhere. I’m of the opinion that the Zebra cutie marks are similar, but significantly different to pony cutie marks. In that the zebra are born with them. Instead of having one moment that crystallizes their path in life that marks them, a zebra may spend their entire life trying to figure out what their ‘destiny mark’ means. It becomes more of a prophecy/guiding force instead of a descriptive one. Which also can explain why the one example we have is more abstract than pony cutie marks. I’m still deciding if a zebra has an ‘eureka’ moment when they understand the meaning of their destiny mark, like a pony has when earning their cutie mark. I think it would be much more interesting if they don’t. A zebra might think they’ve figured out their path in life and stop striving for understanding, or fail to realize their path and keep searching after discovering it. Lots of potential for character-building potential there.

As with pretty much all my headcanon, this got stuck in my head and added to the ‘official’ setting in my head because it is great for both story-telling and playing tabletop roleplaying games with. Which is pretty much my two main rules for that sort of thing, with ‘makes sense’ merely the third guiding post.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 7, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

One response to “Pony Story 218

  1. Soge

    September 7, 2014 at 2:25 pm

    One alternative I read once was that Zebra’s Cutie Marks would grow with time, and it would reflect their choices and paths in life.

     

Leave a Reply

