RSS

Book: Anthropologist On Mars

20 Sep

Hopefully today I’ll get the whole thing typed up and saved before I post it. Or at least double-check it before going to bed. It’s pretty short, so I don’t think it’ll be a problem. In entirely unrelated news, I’ve sold around 10 stories in the last two months or so. Given that I was averaging 1 sale a month for a year, that’s a big boost! Trying to take it as encouragement to push the next two short stories out the door, but the depression is fighting back.

An Anthropologist on Mars: Seven Paradoxical Tales by Oliver Sacks

I really wanted to get through this book, I really did. It’s a subject I enjoy reading about (how human brains work on a conceptual level) and the cases all seem fairly interesting. However, I found it so dry that I barely got into it before giving up. Didn’t even get through the first case study in the book. The point I gave up was when he was giving a introduction to the history of color theory and the philosophy of sight, sort of. I’m reading this book to hear about the weirdness of human brains and the outer edges of neurology. Not ten pages of which 19th century physicist discovered how to create color photographs. I would still recommend this book to anyone interested in the subject matter. This author handles some of the weirdest edge cases of brain damage around, and it can be fascinating just how precise the damage to a person’s mind can get.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 20, 2014 in Books 2014, Reviews

 

3 responses to “Book: Anthropologist On Mars

  1. Present Perfect

    September 20, 2014 at 7:32 am

    Shame you found it dry. I noted this book a couple years ago and put it on my to-read list.

    Not like I’ll ever get through that one…

     
    • Griffin

      September 20, 2014 at 10:35 am

      Is suspect a good portion of it is just my current mood. I’ll take another charge at it in a week or so to make sure.

       
  2. iisawiisaw

    September 20, 2014 at 4:22 pm

    Got through this one as a talking book on a road trip. I can see how it would drag a bit if read.

     

Leave a Reply

