RSS

Pony Stories 226

21 Sep

Ponies. Ponies for you. Ponies for me. Lots of ponies for everyone. My brain comes up with weird stuff when I need to fill a small intro paragraph and have absolutely no inspiration. Dragging on the non-pony stuff and got into reading some pony stories, so plenty of them for the next few days most likely. At least today and tomorrow.

Little Deceptions by Taranth

I liked this one. Writing is not quite as polished as it could be, but still above average in quality. Some subtle worldbuilding about a unicorn-biased Canterlot. The real fun bit is the second short chapter. Minor spoilers ahead. I could totally see how that sort of thing could happen a lot. Princess Celestia creating a reputation of all-knowing chess master simply by luck, a spell nopony knows, and her reputation building on itself.

The Last Trumpet’s Call by Cold in Gardez

As is often the case, this story written by Cold In Gardez is quite good. I would have liked to know more about the events that unfold in the story. Why the windigos and the deer were involved, the reasons for everything that happened. There was some good pegasus worldbuilding as well. Another neat addition to the idea that pegasi families aren’t that tightly connected to each other. Strongly connected, sure, but not tightly. Parents love their foals very much, but aren’t concerned if they stay out for a night or two. Allowing for the pegasus need for freedom and wandering. I’m a bit annoyed at the most trivial thing possible. The long patrol in this story is close to an idea I’ve had for a while. Not that either is all that original, but it feels like if I do anything with my version I’ll be competing with Cold In Gardez for headspace in anyone who reads both. I suppose that only matters if I actually get around to doing anything with my ideas.

The Cutie Mark Conspiracy by Cold in Gardez

Pretty good. Not to my personal tastes (the CMC episodes are some of my least favorite even though many moments in them I enjoy), but the author as usual has written a extremely enjoyable story. I found the start just a tad sluggish, but by the end of it I had laughed out loud once and was chuckling to myself almost constantly.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 21, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

3 responses to “Pony Stories 226

  1. Not Cold in Gardez

    September 21, 2014 at 9:51 am

    What part made you laugh out loud, if I may ask?

     
    • Griffin

      September 21, 2014 at 10:03 am

      I don’t remember specifically. Might have been when Sweetie Belle found the wonder and joy of tree destruction by throwing the axe. Hers was certainly the moment of realization I enjoyed the most.

       
    • Professor Whooves

      September 22, 2014 at 4:16 am

      “Spike still woke up screaming sometimes.”
      “Nope. Yer a cartographer, not a weed picker. ‘sides, then yer map would be wrong.”
      “‘Girls!’ she yelled to Scootaloo and Apple Bloom. ‘I got our kite back!'”

      I think the commenters are right in pointing out the missed opportunities for 1. an Arbormaw–lumberjack interaction and 2. a fake CM = actual CM punchline.

       

Leave a Reply

