RSS

Pony Stories 229

25 Sep

Seems like a lot of authors over on FimFiction are rewriting their stories lately. I don’t really have anything against this in principle… Okay, that’s a bit of a fib. I’m of the ‘write the next thing’ school of thought. But in this case I see several authors rewriting fairly long stories that will probably take a while. All I can think of is that I want them to be putting that effort into writing their next big story. Anyone else notice rewriting being more common recently, or is it just me?

And while I’m complaining about authors not finishing their next big stories fast enough… I want the sequel to It’s a Dangerous Business, Going Out Your Door already!

Bail by Karn3

Light and silly. Just what I needed after First Light Of Dawn. The best part of this story is definitely the part at the very end when they are talking about rap sheets.

Trixie Discovers Celestia Is Not A Genius by The Delirium

Eh, found this lackluster. Writing isn’t really all that bad. It’s just kind of, well, kind of there. Had one good line (“Oh Trixie, you do not need to be remotely intelligent to run a nation. It is quite easy.”. Other than that, I think ‘eh’ sums up my reaction.

The Enchanted Library by Monochromatic

I wanted this to be longer. This could be extended into a good adventure and/or romance story. Plus I wanted to know how you could have Princess Twilight Sparkle pre-dating Rarity. It does have something of a fairy tale feel to it, so it worked. I’d recommend it.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 25, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

6 responses to “Pony Stories 229

  1. Present Perfect

    September 25, 2014 at 7:40 am

    I did notice EQD post a story rewrite in the updates recently. :O That was new.

     
  2. Chris

    September 25, 2014 at 5:39 pm

    I’d generally rather an author focus on writing new stories than on “fixing” old ones. In moderation, it can be fine, but endlessly going back and trying to bring old stories up to new standards is a never-ending quest, and can sap a writer pretty quickly. I suppose it works for some people, but not for me, and I think not for most writers.

    Also, it seems a bit rude to readers, to essentially tell them “if you liked the story the way it was before, you’re wrong.” That’s probably just me reading way too much into it, though.

    Also, the next update to Besides the Will of Evil will bring it over 100,000 words, so it’s not like Jetfire’s lagging!

     
    • Griffin

      September 25, 2014 at 6:45 pm

      I think the rewrite that bothers me most is I remember reading that FO:E Project Horizons was getting a rewrite from the beginning to fix things. I went “augh, it’s never getting finished!” it needs editing horribly, but I do want to see how things wrap up. Editing a unfinished story just bugs me on a even deeper level. How do you know what to rewrite when you don’t know how it all ends?

      Jetfire’s not lagging, he simply cannot write as fast as I’d like. You know, faster than the speed of light so the story is done by now. Oh, and it needs to be brilliantly written and edited as well as fast.

       
    • xjuggernaughtx

      September 25, 2014 at 6:46 pm

      It’s sapping me, that’s for sure. I’ve been working on A Door Jam for what feels like forever to try and get it onto EQD. I’m very, very tired of it, but I can’t let it go. It’s very close…

      I’ll never overhaul another story in the way that I’ve done this one. It’s just too big of a time sink.

       
      • Griffin

        September 25, 2014 at 6:56 pm

        I will admit that doing it for a purpose, like submitting it somewhere, is a different kettle of ponies. Sounds like you hit the point of diminishing returns a few editing passes ago though.

         
    • Present Perfect

      September 26, 2014 at 7:37 am

      But so many readers are wrong, Chris.

      So many.

       

Leave a Reply

