RSS

Pony Stories 231

28 Sep

It begins! Well, I’m sure something is beginning somewhere. Actually, the Rainbow Rocks movie came out the day I wrote this. Which is actually yesterday from when it is scheduled to run. So I’m reminded of my position on that movie. The art style still kinda weirds me out. That’s why I didn’t see the first one. However, I’ll see this under two conditions. That Vinyl Scratch being oblivious to the Villain’s big mind-zap musical number is a major plot point. Or if Sunset Shimmer is the main character for at least half of the movie, with Twilight Sparkle not showing up until sometime after the halfway point. I suspect neither of these are true. If one or the other is, I’ll see the movie eventually. If they both are true I’ll go see it in the theater. And that fills up a decent sized intro paragraph. With pony content even. Below the break is another three ponyfic reviews.

Is it just me, or did the notification emails from FimFiction get a lot fancier recently?

Her Scarf Fluttered in the Absence of Wind by ArgonMatrix

I liked this. Just can’t quite put my finger on exactly why. Might just be the general high quality of the writing with nothing really good or really bad to stand out. I want to think that Cadance goes back to visit the dragon once she becomes an Alicorn.

Heat-Sink Spike Helps Celestia Cool Off by Blank!

Bwuh? That was weird. Story from spike’s perspective where he mostly uses slang-type language. Not sure I’d recommend it. It kind of wanders and doesn’t really go anywhere. Did have a single neat idea. That summer is the result of Celestia’s heat cycle. When she gets fertile and ready for loving, the sun blazes brighter and that’s why summer is so hot.

The Next Edward VIII by Gabriel LaVedier

Bleh. The writing is a bit clunky, has too much unsupported worldbuilding, with Twilight Sparkle and Pinkie Pie as marefriends just kinda because. Decent premise though. Twilight giving up being an alicorn so she can stay in Ponyville with her friends and have a simple life. Still, not recommended.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 28, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

5 responses to “Pony Stories 231

  1. Present Perfect

    September 28, 2014 at 4:52 pm

    I can confirm your point 1 is true, point 2 is half true. Guess you have to see it somehow now! :V

     
    • Griffin

      September 28, 2014 at 6:37 pm

      Neat. When does Twilight show up? I’ll probably wait until it’s on dvd to see it. Or if it shows up on netflix and/or amazon video.

       
      • Present Perfect

        September 29, 2014 at 8:05 am

        About a third of the way through. Good luck avoiding them spoilers! :B

         
      • Griffin

        September 29, 2014 at 10:25 am

        I’m pretty good at that sort of thing. Besides, I’m pretty sure the good guys win with the power of friendship. Just a guess.

         
  2. bchandler2

    October 3, 2014 at 4:33 pm

    See it! See it see it see it!

     

Leave a Reply

