RSS

Pony Stories 237

05 Oct

My latest idea was to grab the oldest stories off my to-read list. I really have too much fun with the sort function of the list. Then I decided I wanted to see what the oldest story on the site overall is. I think the sort algorithm gets a bit confused when sorting the whole site. Seems the oldest stories are july 2011. Does that sound right to people? I certainly wasn’t paying attention then. I think the thing is messed up because the few times I tried it there was often a 2012 story mixed up in there as well. Not that any of the stories below the break are from that. I’ve got about a dozen stories between what I’m reading now and what’s going up on the blog.

Three Solos, One Cadence by InquisitorM

A good story. Nice to see the whole ‘being friends with Discord’ thing explored. Not to mention I do have a soft spot for heroic self-sacrifice. Not that the two are related, exactly. Just two things in the story I liked. This is probably the closest to a ‘standard’ story I’ve read from this author. Didn’t really get a sense of any real deep meaning as I’ve gotten from his other works. Which is both a good thing and a bad thing. Bad thing in that either he tried to make this a more normal story, or I completely missed the deeper stuff in it. However, it is good in that it was a much easier and more enjoyable read (from a comfort standpoint) than his other ones. I would recommend this one to anyone, and might even use it as a entry story for introducing other people to the author’s work.

The Combinatorics Project by Ringcaat

This was an odd one. It’s like a half-dozen stories in one. Like the author changed their mind about the story they wanted to write twice while writing it. The first part is a somewhat shallow look at the various pairings of the mane six. Most were, well, fairly shallow. More like one sentence summaries of cool couple ideas expanded outward. None of them really had much of a context that made them make sense. I did enjoy bits and pieces of them. Like the Twilight and Rarity couple that did comedy/fashion burlesque shows. I would love a story that actually tells the story of that relationship. Then we get the whole multiverse mix-up thing, then the story ends. Then we get a good little additional bit that is a meeting of the interdimensional council of Scootaloos. Which was hilarious. Then there is Pinkie Pie’s journal of her and Rainbow Dash’s adventures through the mulitverse. Which goes on way too long and is kinda rambling and not much point to it. This ponyfic falls in the category of more writing experiment than good story. I might recommend it with a warning, but only if you enjoy somewhat disjointed stories and wanted to get a lot of different shipping ideas for the mane six pairing up.

Hello, My Name Is by LoyalLiar

A fun changeling story. Which I always enjoy. The changeling stories are probably one of my favorite sub-genres of ponyfic. Not sure what else to say. One or two things I could comment on, but don’t really feel like it. I enjoyed this and you might too. Unless you don’t like changeling stories. In which case I would still recommend it, since it’s much more a comedy of errors than the same story told over and over again in other changeling stories. I did think the part with Princess Luna was the weakest part of the story.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 5, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

5 responses to “Pony Stories 237

  1. inquisitormence

    October 5, 2014 at 10:12 am

    It was very much intended to be what you would call a ‘normal’ story, and it meant going through quite a lot of revisions to bring everything into focus. The deeper meaning in it is purely that expecting those with the most to lose to take the first step in a relationship is not a reasonable expectation. Cadance is blind to the her innate privilege until Fluttershy shows her what it really means to be courageous by taking all the risk in her relationship with Discord.

    That’s about it.

     
    • Griffin

      October 5, 2014 at 10:40 am

      Cool. I had gotten some of the gist of it, but missed some of the specifics of the idea.

       
  2. Present Perfect

    October 5, 2014 at 5:46 pm

    I figured it out once: The oldest story still extant on Fimfic is number… I want to say 7, maybe 8. Sethisto wrote it, it’s about Trixie, it will never be finished, it’s not terribly good. The oldest complete story is number 10, if I’m not mistaken, written by Cereal Velocity and not too bad. I’m p. sure I reviewed both. :B

     
    • Griffin

      October 5, 2014 at 10:45 pm

      Interesting. Because going by the dates next to the chapters, plenty of stories are older than the 10 story.

       
      • Present Perfect

        October 6, 2014 at 7:20 am

        Remember, the date on Fimfic isn’t exactly perfect. Updating can change it, and sometimes it won’t change at all. :B

         

Leave a Reply

