RSS

Pony Stories 242

11 Oct

Welp, I have now read every single thing Cold In Gardez has got on FimFiction. Well, I might have missed a blog post or two, but I’ve now read every pony story he has uploaded. The last few reviews of stories I haven’t covered should be below the break. Spoiler Warning ahead: I liked them.

Going through every book I’ve reviewed on my blog to add them to a new bookshelf over on FimFiction has been interesting. I keep forgetting how long ago I read some of my favorites. Not to mention finding the stories that were removed from the site completely. Such as A Writer’s Lament by Absolute Anonymous. Which was quite good and now isn’t on the site anymore, which is a bit sad. Also reminds me of how many great authors need to put out more stuff. More stories by GhostOfHeraclitus, ASAP! Hmm… Also turns out I have more books on my ‘have reviewed’ shelf than I have links to reviews on the big master review list. Time to cross-reference between my calibre library, fimfiction, and the list sometime soon.

Just got finished updating my reviews on THE MASTER LIST (man, that is a fun thing to type) and turns out that these three round out the first 1000 review-reaction-things I’ve been doing. So, um, yay for big round numbers I guess.

Michael Bay Presents: My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic: Revenge of the Unicorn God Slayer by Cold in Gardez

Another one I read out loud. I found this hilarious. I suspect my mother (who has never seen a michael bay movie) wasn’t a amused. She still liked it, but she was totally missing the deeper comedy. I had thought I had written this up, but apparently didn’t. Hopefully I didn’t do it, post it, then forget about it. Anyway, this was fun. Part of me wishes there was more, but the other part knows that there really wasn’t anywhere else to go. There is only so much you can get out of the source material after all. The non-pony source material that is.

In the Garden of Good and Evil by Cold in Gardez

I didn’t finish Romance Reports when I gave it a try. Just seemed a bit, well, not my thing. Might give it another chance if what I saw at the start of that story ends up with Twilight Sparkle thinking about Luna as ‘the crazy moon bitch’. If that’s the case, it’s more interesting than what I managed to get through. As for this story, interesting. Not sure I’d say I liked it. Was far too slow paced for my tastes. The writing was good, but in general not really grabbing me. The ceremony itself was interesting, but in my head is pretty much compressed to a sentence or two. The very end was interesting, but much too short. A story where Twilight Sparkle struggles with the implications and her angry feelings about the end of the ceremony would be a lot more interesting to me. I do have to wonder if that last line is referencing something specific, or just a dangling hook to grab the reader’s interest.

Huh. Just realized that I never even did a review post about Romance Reports. Or, more precisely, it didn’t come up when I was marking all the review posts for the new bookshelf and when I did a search on my blog it didn’t come up at all. Weird.

Forever Summer by Cold in Gardez

A good story. Little basic, but quite good. I suspect this would have grabbed me a bit more if I wasn’t a little odd. I never really was that kind of kid when I was younger. Very imaginative, as I still am today, but even as a young kid I was fairly logical and introspective. So I never really got lost in play like that. Even when playing pretend with other kids (mostly megaman games, actually) I always was aware that it was just pretend. Probably doesn’t help that I’ve never really had peers. Up through high school I hung around kids younger than me or older than me, or my parents and their friends. I don’t think I’ve ever actually had a friend that was the same age as me +/- 1 year.


Okay, all three of these had to be added to the big master review list for my reviews. I could have sworn that someone else had reviewed them. I remember seeing mentions of Forever Summer before, but apparently none of them were reviews. That’s just bizarre. Maybe I’m starting to hallucinate. Which would be a shame. I mean, I kind of want to know what it’s like to see things that don’t exist (seems like a big part of the human experience I’m missing out out) but I would like to hallucinate something more interesting than vague memories of ponyfic reviews.

Anyway, 1000 review-reaction-things. Woo. Not 1000 read of course. I’ve still got a backlog of at least a dozen stories. The CiG ones just jumped the line when I decided to write that intro bit before realizing I hadn’t actually finished the last two CiG stories.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 11, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

6 responses to “Pony Stories 242

  1. Present Perfect

    October 11, 2014 at 8:03 am

    I think I’ve got Michael Bay slated for review off my “Old Favorites” list. That was way before I was reviewing stuff. :B

     
  2. Soge Loquy

    October 11, 2014 at 8:07 am

    Not to spoil much, but Twilight realizing Luna was being “The crazy moon bitch” is an important plot point in Romance Reports

     
    • Griffin

      October 11, 2014 at 8:23 am

      Well, yes, I kind of figured. Since the stories starts out with Twilight trying to date her.

       
      • inquisitormence

        October 11, 2014 at 12:45 pm

        Yeah. As much as I do have a soft spot for actually putting some effort into being an actual story, Romance Reports doesn’t avoid the worst pitfall of generic shipping: pick a character to be arbitrarily infatuated with another character and never bothering to give it any explanation, progression, or depth. So it’s not so much an important plot point as a baseless excuse to get it on with ponies.

        Assuming that the usually shipping-related sloppiness doesn’t bother a reader, it’s probably worth it. I still don’t regret reading it, but then I take it as an exercise in understanding the author as much as anything else.

         
  3. Cold in Gardez

    October 12, 2014 at 5:34 pm

    Technically, you’ve only read my published stuff 😀

    Now I just need to write some more stories.

     
    • Griffin

      October 12, 2014 at 6:11 pm

      …yes, only the published stuff… right. Pay no attention to my housemate who designs spy software for the government.

      and yes, you should write more stories. Because you are quite good at that and I enjoy reading your stuff.

       

Leave a Reply

