RSS

Pony Stories 243

12 Oct

Well, my pony worldbook for running rpg campaigns in a version of the MLP world is pretty much finished. Could really use a editing pass, but I don’t think I’ve got anything else to put in there. 50 pages of personal pony headcanon goodness. Think I’ve finally got the oomph to show it to people, so I figured I’d ask my loyal audience for an opinion. Should I just upload it as one document and post a link for anyone to download and read it? Or actually do each section as a post and make a weekly event of it? Probably 50-75% is gonna be somewhat familiar to people since I grabbed a lot of it out of the fanfics I’ve read and just tweaked. Few other pieces (such as my personal headcanon for Canterlot) I’ve already tossed up here on the blog before. Any opinions either way?

Okay, wait, there is a more important question. Anyone out there curious at all? I’d like at least a reaction from someone who actually read through it. See if it’s actually coherent and all that jazz. However if not a single person is interested in downloading and checking it out, I’ll wait until it’s edited and polished up a bit before showing it around. Eventually it will be going into my rpg anywhere kit as a campaign setting book.

Half-Baked by Aquaman

Fun and predictable. Another one for the fluffy comedy pile. The first page or so was my favorite but that’s because I really enjoy the dialogue-focused sort of style. It’s almost all dialogue, but I think there are a few bits of body language and non-dialogue like sighing.

The Dread Chitin by Karazor

I ended up liking this one. A little light in the content department. I like my stories fairly dense after all. Still, quite good. Kind of wish it had been more of a Mechwarrior crossover as I have liked the few bits of that universe and wanted to see more of it. I suspect I’ve gotten a bit spoiled with the Fallout and Xcom crossovers that I’ve enjoyed so much. This story actually reminded me of the XCOM crossover (Stardust by Arad) in places. Also had a pretty good version of Rainbow Dash, and a nice little exploration of pony and human views on violence. Though I viewed it as Twilight Sparkle being basically an ivory tower intellectual rather than a look at ponies as a whole. There is no way that a kingdom with a royal guard as big as we saw in the wedding episodes doesn’t have at least some experience with ‘proper’ violence.

Outside the Reaching Sky by Karazor

This gets added to my list of favorite ponyfics. Which is different from my favorites bookshelf, oddly enough. I’ll have to reorganize all of those later. Not a incredible work of writing, but hits all sorts of good buttons in my head. It is almost exactly the kind of space adventure and/or space opera type of science fiction I really enjoy. Right up there with my favorite military scifi authors. I was sad when I realized I was most of the way through the story and when it finished I really wanted there to be more. When it’s done right, I absolutely love scifi ponies. This was a story where it’s done really well. Highly recommended.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 12, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

7 responses to “Pony Stories 243

  1. Archonix

    October 12, 2014 at 7:55 am

    I’m proud to say I had a tiny teeny amount of input into Outside The Reaching Sky. Tiny tiny teeny… it was a good fic, flashing hints at us of a world far broader and deeper than anything we actually got to see. The sort of fic I’ve always wanted to write, but never have. There was a sequel promised, but I’m actually starting to wonder if it would be better left alone.

     
    • Griffin

      October 12, 2014 at 4:44 pm

      A sequel that was mostly an exploration story would be pretty cool. Just as long as it doesn’t try to up the stakes and come up with a new bigger threat.

       
  2. Present Perfect

    October 12, 2014 at 9:43 am

    Eh, post it all at once! :V

     
  3. Soge Loquy

    October 12, 2014 at 10:33 am

    I had no idea there was a serious X-Com crossover. Gotta get on that ASAP.

    Also, you should post everything at once.

     
    • Griffin

      October 12, 2014 at 4:45 pm

      There is. I really enjoyed it. Then again, I’m pretty much a huge fan of scom. It’s based on the new game, so if you haven’t played that you’ll miss a bit. Still should be a good story even without that knowledge though assuming you have a grasp on the basic xcom premise.

       
  4. Chris

    October 13, 2014 at 6:01 am

    All at once or in chunks, I’d take a look at it either way. I’d just need to find a group to play it…

     
    • Griffin

      October 13, 2014 at 11:18 am

      Yeah, don’t really have a group to play any kind of pony game myself. I tend to worldbuild and game design when I don’t actually get to play. My weekly D&D group is nice, but I am starting to miss running a game of my own.

       

Leave a Reply

