RSS

Pony Headcanon-ish 04

15 Oct

Finally got the most recent edits for the mlp worldbook I talk about from time to time. It’s more or less in usable condition I think. Rough, but coherent I hope. Still would like to get some art for it, but just about everyone who might be reading it at this point is going to know what these particular talking cartoon ponies look like. Anyway, below is the link to the pdf and two ponyfic reviews. Because I might as well put something up here for everyone who isn’t interested in my 80+ page headcanon document.

PonyWorldbook

 

The Sweetest Water by Chris

A really good fairy tale. Just didn’t grab me personally. Fairy tales are very much a hit or miss kind of thing for me, so the author is certainly not to blame for this one being one of the misses. I did find it interesting the choices of which ponies got linked to each pool. Sure, there was a limited number of famous powerful and/or influential ponies to pick from in the pony canon, but it was still neat. Celestia, immortality, known to all and loved. Sombra, power, feared and forgotten. Starswirl, knowledge, respected but barely known about. Not sure how intentional the subtext was, but found it a good thought-provoking detail when factoring what we know about them from the show.

Refraction by shortskirtsandexplosions

This author is quite good at zany comedy and has managed epic adventure on a regular basis in the past. Yet I think his real skill is deep emotional stories like this one. Though he does this type of story rare enough that maybe just the really good ones get through his personal story filters to get published. I would put this story up with Hello, Sedna. In fact, it could easily be seen as a distant prologue to that story. Highly recommended, but it will hit you hard in the feels if you let it.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 15, 2014 in Books 2014, My Writing, Ponies, Reviews

 

4 responses to “Pony Headcanon-ish 04

  1. Present Perfect

    October 15, 2014 at 8:51 am

    Goshdarnit just call them batponies. D:

     
    • Griffin

      October 15, 2014 at 8:57 am

      Nope! I was tempted to find the word you really hated from one of the batpony stories, but realized that would be waaay to much trouble for a small joke.

      Really, I was just using that author’s name since I pretty much just stole his concept and history for them. Now that I’m thinking about it in context, instead of just focusing on one section at a time, I might actually change it to batponies. Fits with everything else much better.

       
      • Present Perfect

        October 15, 2014 at 10:07 am

        I would have ragequit the internet if you did that. D: You butt.

        Other than “batponies” being the closest thing to a canon name we have for them, I think my main issue with even innocuous names like “nocturne” is that everyone gets all World of Darkness “vampires are dark and serious and brooding and not funny ever” when it comes to batponies. Seriously, has anyone written a story where they have a long-standing tradition of scaring other ponies with light pranks to keep them on their toes, and after their return to Equestria, they find that it isn’t much appreciated and so have to figure out a way to reingratiate themselves to other ponies? Something light and humorous involving them, that just doesn’t happen.

         
      • Griffin

        October 15, 2014 at 2:58 pm

        I come up with horrible things to inflict on people that I am far too lazy to actually do. You don’t have to worry. I can see your reasoning. Though the guy I got that particular version from does use a decent amount of humor, but most of it isn’t the light scary prank type. Could be an interesting story.

        I think I’m just gonna change it because if I got earth ponies and crystal ponies, should just go with batponies to match.

         

Leave a Reply

