RSS

Pony Stories 252

23 Oct

The numbers as of writing up this post. Me: 1032 reviews on the big master list. PresentPerfect: 1382. Pretty sure I can close that gap by at least 100-200 by the end of the year. Start playing the scary shark music! Mostly so it’ll distract me from the even more sorting of bookshelves I have lined up over at FimFiction. Which reminds me of a question. Anyone out there think I should start mirroring theses posts over there? Or even just post like the titles and stuff I reviewed with a link to each day’s post? Is getting this stuff over there a lot better for people than coming here? Please fill out the survey and get back to me. 4-6 weeks delivery. Full satisfaction or your money back. Only valid in countries named on leap years.

  • Overture by SuperGiantRobot
  • About How Twilight Sparkle Licked a Doorknob and the Consequences Thereafter by Aragon
  • Switcheroo by Masterweaver

Overture by SuperGiantRobot

Not bad. A nice how Vinyl and Octavia met sorta thing. Kinda artsy in a good way, if a bit stereotypical in its portrayal of Vinyl.

About How Twilight Sparkle Licked a Doorknob and the Consequences Thereafter by Aragon

Hey, a story by this author I don’t particularly like. That’s something new. Mostly it seemed really mean-spirited. Which might sound weird if you consider how much I enjoyed Long Story Short. The difference is Long Story Short the characters were all horrible ponies who deserved all the horrible things that happened to them. This one is just kinda insulting to the actual bits we see in the show. So, didn’t finish it.

Switcheroo by Masterweaver

Fun little changeling story. Nothing special, but I enjoyed it.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 23, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

6 responses to “Pony Stories 252

  1. Present Perfect

    October 23, 2014 at 8:08 am

    I’m cool with hanging around here, but then I have an easy way to access this site. :B Putting them on Fimfic would probably get you more eyes (though I’d probably start paying attention over there myself).

    Also, hold onto your butt, because I’ve got some projects coming up to inflate my review count! :V Not that that’s why I’m doing them, of course…

     
    • Griffin

      October 23, 2014 at 10:00 am

      Just curious. Views aren’t really my main goal. Already kinda feeling weird that I’m getting almost 100 views a day after all.

       
  2. Aragón

    October 23, 2014 at 12:52 pm

    You hadn’t reviewed Doorknob? Weird. Anyway, it’s so far away from my usual style that I would have been actually surprised if you’d like it. It was a blast to write, tho.

    Also, that story has a very amusing bug, because its views are completely off the chart. It has over 11,000 views, which is completely ridiculous because it didn’t get featured and had no publicity whatsoever. Hell, it only has 143 likes and 95 comments, which shows that 2,000 people or so have seen it, and yet Fimfic turned crazy all of a sudden.

    So now it’s my third most-viewed story, above Today is a Good Day to Die, which was in EQD. And that’s surprisingly depressing!

     
    • Griffin

      October 23, 2014 at 1:33 pm

      Or encouraging! If a story you enjoyed writing so much is that popular, you must be doing something right. That’s the story you should go with.

       
  3. Professor Whooves

    October 24, 2014 at 1:56 am

    I’d much rather follow you on FIMFiction.net than catch up here every few days. If you can convince Chris to do the same, you’ll have my eternal gratitude.

    I feel that now is a good time to mention that I’m responsible for raising “Pony Stories 57” above the main page for certain searches like “cityofdoors wordpress”. For privacy reasons, I can’t bookmark this blog, so I end up searching for it in incognito a few times per week. I visited “PS57” consistently for a while and now it’s up there. Whoops?

     
    • Griffin

      October 24, 2014 at 9:23 am

      Fun with search results!

       

Leave a Reply

