RSS

Pony Stories 260

02 Nov

Bleh. Even on the internet I get all worked up if I even suspect I’ve made someone else feel bad. At least if it’s genuinely my fault. If it’s someone taking offense where none was intended, or some other accident, I’m usually fine. But something that’s 100% my fault due to carelessness and not triple-checking things? Even when just a little internet comment it still gets me feeling ick. Stupid emotions. Stupid physical reactions to those emotions. Quick, somebody give me a fic from their read it later pile to read and comment on so I can feel useful again.

Or, you know, just go below the break to read today’s selection of pony reviews. Tomorrow we will return to my normal rambling nonsense for the intro bits.

  • Pest Control by Rust
  • A Delicate Balance by JapaneseTeeth
  • Coffee by Schurchk

Pest Control by Rust

Another missing review re-read and re-written. This one isn’t bad. I just don’t like it much. Basically just a fight scene between Princess Luna and Queen Chrysalis after the wedding. If that appeals to you, go ahead and read it. If that premise doesn’t grab you there really isn’t anything else here.

A Delicate Balance by JapaneseTeeth

Another story I didn’t finish. Even gave it two tries. Read as far as I could get once, then set it aside for a couple of days and then started from where I left off. Just so repetitive. It’s 289,001 words long and as of the 40% point it is 95% relationship anxity. Almost literaly. Like more than half of all the text in the story is one character or another worrying about the relationship. To the exclusion of actually showing the relationship. It was the second attemp at reading that I finally managed to put my finger on my biggest problem. There is no feeling of romance. When I recently re-read I Miss You that was bits and pieces and I still got a bit emotional in places from sadness and the sweetness of the romance. In this story I get nothing. Mostly because the author kind of sucks at showing instead of telling. We get blow by blow, thought by thought of Twilight Sparkle and Applejack worrying about their relationship with each other. Then we get a single line summing up them actually spending an hour or so together. Then back to Applejack complaining to her Brother with her worries about the relationship. There’s a side plot that seems to indicate that Fluttershy might have a crush on Twilight Sparkle and it might become a love triangle. Yet it’s so dull and vague that it might be nothing, and things move so slowly that another small novel worth of text might go by before anything actually happens with that. Or that Rainbow Dash might have a crush on Fluttershy. So if you don’t mind tell-y glacially slow shipping stories, you might give this a try. I enjoy fairly fluffy shipping stories and I ended up not liking it. The comedy moment I enjoyed most: Rainbow dash referring to the CMC as the butt-stamp brigade when thinking about them.

Coffee by Schurchk

This was nice. A brief little character study of Octavia with a sweet ending. And I mean brief. Still, I enjoyed it.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 2, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

4 responses to “Pony Stories 260

  1. Present Perfect

    November 2, 2014 at 7:48 am

    So you’re gonna read all the Button *ash fics, right? RIGHT? 8V

     
    • Griffin

      November 2, 2014 at 11:36 am

      I was feeling bad, not crazy. I’m planning on staying far away from that particular mess. Might get around to reading yours since it apparently is not as trolly as it appears.

       
      • Present Perfect

        November 2, 2014 at 7:25 pm

        Well, one of them isn’t trolling…

         
      • Griffin

        November 2, 2014 at 8:11 pm

        In fact, after seeing someone else’s review on them I’ve added four or five of them to my read later list. So we’ll see.

         

Leave a Reply

