RSS

Pony Stories 271

15 Nov

For those of you who were asking, I might have found the way to put comments in your RSS feeds. On the right hand sidebar of the blog, just below the recent posts section, should be a RSS link. Title should be something like RSS Comments? with a link just under that. Let me know if that is or is not the solution to the situation. As mentioned, I have no clue about RSS stuff.

A comment on that one post a few days ago that got all the comments (guess which one it was!) got me thinking. Which in turn led me to be curious. A story showing up on say Seattle’s Angels or The Royal Guard gets a bump of readers. Any of you authors noticed any kind of bump when I mention a story here? I mean, I’ve got at best 80-90 people reading on a semi-regular basis so it wouldn’t be a big one. Just curious if there has been anything noticeable.

In other news, FimFiction isn’t letting me post blogs. So the R4 posts will be taking a brief vacation while I try to figure that out.

  • A Sky and its Anchor by blue harvest
  • The First Time You See Her by Skywriter
  • Where the Heart Is by Pascoite

A Sky and its Anchor by blue harvest

I found this story to be very sweet. The prose is a bit flowery, but works. I can see Applejack thinking in a overly poetic fashion first thing in the morning, looking at her marefriend in the brief pre-dawn time before getting another hour or two of sleep.

The First Time You See Her by Skywriter

Dotted Line gets a small cameo and references Martial Bliss. Both of which are awesome. I really enjoyed this. Skywriter continues to be one of my favorite writers, both ponyfic and other. He continues to have very high skill with concise and evocative prose. The downside is that this is just a bridge between stories. Basically a prologue for the main Cadance of Cloudsdale story. Which means it feels somwhat incomplete. Lots of great stuff, but at the end I was just getting into the swing of things and I want more. I re-read the other stories in the Cadance of Cloudsale cycle to lead up to this one and enjoyed them once again as well. So now back to the eternal wait for the next story to be finished.

Where the Heart Is by Pascoite

Reminds me of Sun Princess. Which is the other really good story from Winoa’s perspective. Plus this story surprised me, which is always nice. Highly recommended.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on November 15, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

11 responses to “Pony Stories 271

  1. Present Perfect

    November 15, 2014 at 9:16 am

    OH. HERP. You click “RSS Comments” holy shit I’m dumb ._.

    Anyway, I can’t figure out what the last story of mine you read was, or when, or I’d answer your other question. :B

     
    • Griffin

      November 15, 2014 at 1:35 pm

      Well, that RSS Comments link wasn’t there until I put it there just before mentioning it. So you aren’t that dumb.

       
      • Present Perfect

        November 15, 2014 at 5:47 pm

        Oh. You’re just trying to make me look dumb! D:

         
  2. xjuggernaughtx

    November 15, 2014 at 10:26 am

    I dunno. You’ve never read my stuff. ;~;

    But people should be able to see visits from your site in their stat listings if it happens. I’m not sure that works all the time, though. I’ve had lots of stories that have been reviewed in various places that have never seen traffic from that site. I find it hard to believe that not one single person has clicked the link, so I have my doubts that it’s working correctly.

    Or maybe I’m hated. One of the two.

     
    • Griffin

      November 15, 2014 at 1:34 pm

      Huh. Could have sworn I’ve read at least one of your stories. Have several of them in my to-read list. I’ll have to fix that.

       
      • xjuggernaughtx

        November 15, 2014 at 2:04 pm

        It’s cool. I’m just joking around. I figure you’ll have to read some of them at some point. You cannot avoid Cheerilee…

         
      • Griffin

        November 15, 2014 at 2:33 pm

        Funny thing is that I have read one of the chapters of Cheerilee’s Thousand, but it was one of the guest author ones.

         
  3. Viking ZX

    November 15, 2014 at 1:21 pm

    It’s hard to tell. My stuff was reviewed on here a while ago, so I can’t say for sure how many regular readers you had. And if they simply typed the title into Google rather than click the link, than it would be hard to tell if they were linked directly. As is, I don’t have any massive links from here, the majority of my linked pages come from Google, TV Tropes and then writing refferal forums like Spacebattles or such.

    You might have to make controlled experiment.

     
  4. Soge

    November 15, 2014 at 4:05 pm

    Thanks! RSS Comments are working perfectly now.

     
  5. Pascoite Fics

    November 15, 2014 at 4:17 pm

    Glad you enjoyed it! I figured it’d be up your alley, but of course I couldn’t tell you why.

     
    • Griffin

      November 15, 2014 at 4:38 pm

      The why is not important. You should also not question the growing urge in the back of your mind to continue writing stories I enjoy reading.

      One reason is probably because I like examine perception of the world around you and non-malicious mental manipulation. In this case, Winoa’s point of view is both.

       

Leave a Reply

