RSS

Pony Stories 272

16 Nov

Yay. My blog posting troubles over on FimFiction have ended. Logged out of the site and back in. Which seems to have solved the problem. Still have no clue what happened, but glad it has gone away. Let’s check this blog’s statistics! Hmm… The top searches to this blog have been… The website addresses to specific blogs? That doesn’t make any sense. You guys know that you can just type that in and it’ll take you here, right? You don’t have to google the address. Though, could be I just don’t understand that particular page of the blog stats. It’s not exactly intuitive. That might just be the parts of the blog people’s searches have taken them.

In other news, the big master review list is up to 2893 entries. Getting close to the big 3k mark. Probably going to hit it by the end of the year. Given that there is probably two reviews per story… That’s a lot of words about horsewords.

  • Awaken, Scootaloo by xjuggernaughtx
  • The Carrot Dog Fight by xjuggernaughtx
  • Diary of a Silent Tyrant by xjuggernaughtx

Awaken, Scootaloo by xjuggernaughtx

This is probably the best Luna dreamwalking scene I’ve run into. Well, at least in the ‘Luna providing guidance’ sense. Just the right amount of advice and dream metaphysics. The prose is clean and flows very well. Plus I liked the message (especially in the first half or so) that you can’t focus on what other people might say, what you dislike, or what you aren’t. You need to focus on what you want and why you want it. The idea that accomplishing your dreams can only happen when you are focused on positive and directed thoughts. You run towards dreams, not away from your fears. Plus the ending was pretty much perfect.

The Carrot Dog Fight by xjuggernaughtx

Huh. Starts off with a hint of comedy, mostly due to reader expectations. Then it turns into vicious life-threatening bird politics. Then ends up as a friendship is best moment. Kind of all over the place, though the story is smooth and well-written that it’s not all that noticable. It is tagged slice of life, but in my head slice of life doesn’t involve the kind of struggles that this story has. Though not sure what else to tag it. Not exactly adventure, and the others are even less applicable. Anyway, I’m not sure I liked this story but I would certainly recommend it.

Diary of a Silent Tyrant by xjuggernaughtx

Pretty good. A good look into Discord’s head. Wavers a bit between silly and vicious sometimes, but never to any huge degree. It’s easy to accept that Discord himself might be just that unstable. I did like it, but it doesn’t quite make my favorites list because nothing really goes anywhere. I got a bit excited when it seemed his powers might work a little, but then nothing came of that. Would have been fun to see what he could have done with just a teeny bit of influence on the town square.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 16, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

6 responses to “Pony Stories 272

  1. Present Perfect

    November 16, 2014 at 9:17 am

    Though, could be I just don’t understand that particular page of the blog stats. It’s not exactly intuitive
    Having stared at the stats more than I think is probably healthy, I’m gonna agree with you on this. They often don’t make any sense.

    Make sure you read the sequel to Silent Tyrant, it’s even better.

     
    • Griffin

      November 16, 2014 at 11:42 am

      It’s not that I don’t understand the stats, that’s a completely different issue. It’s that the display of the information is so unhelpful.

       
  2. Soge

    November 16, 2014 at 11:11 am

    I am currently tempted to review all the reviewers in the master list. This might even become a thing that actually happens.

     
  3. xjuggernaughtx

    November 16, 2014 at 11:26 am

    This is probably my favorite review of The Carrot Dog Fight. Everyone else seems to read it as slapstick humor. I didn’t write it with that intent at all, and it doesn’t read that way to me. I keep wondering if I’ve somehow unconsciously made the struggle over the carrot dog funny because I usually write comedy. Nice to see at least one person read it the way I did.

    I did struggle with that tag. I mean, it’s not exactly an adventure, but it’s not exactly everyday life for Spike either, though it is closer for the birds. In the end, I just shrugged and called it Slice of Life. I really wish there was a Slice of Adventure tag. That’s what I tend to write. Very small adventures.

     
    • Griffin

      November 16, 2014 at 11:47 am

      Well, for anyone who has seen the Animaniacs cartoon, tough city birds talking is going to make them assume comedy. Plus spike having his lunch stolen by a bird is a brief comedic moment. So it’s like you see a show where someone gets hit in the face by a cream pie in the background, then you write fan-fiction where that character is deathly allergic to the pie and ends up in the hospital. It can be kind of jarring.

       
  4. Logan

    November 18, 2014 at 11:17 am

    I also really liked Awaken, Scootaloo, which came as a pleasant surprise. I like Scootaloo, but the number of her fics of the “works out how to fly and becomes captain of the Wonderbolts!!!” variety does get wearing sometimes. Probably the first really nice Luna’n’Scoots story I’d found since, well, Sleepless in Ponyville itself. I also liked the choice to end the fic at the point it ended, rather than adding the more obvious, rather sugary-sweet, epilogue.

     

Leave a Reply

