RSS

Pony Stories 280

24 Nov

Thanks to an informative comment about spreadsheet functions from the helpful horizon, the BIG MASTER LIST now has added functionality. It now tracks how many reviews each reviewer has done, how many stories are on the list, and how many authors have been reviewed. That last one was a bit tricky and I’m not 100% sure it’s 100% accurate, but I think it is close. Especially after I went through and made sure each author’s name was the same for all of their story entries. Which let me adjust a few to copy/paste exactly how each name is on the FimFiction author pages. Which, as with anything that makes me go through the entire list entry by entry, lead me to discovering a new piece of trivia. PresentPerfect has a typo on the post Fic Recs, October 12th. He got one of the author names slightly wrong.

Current spreadsheet story count as of post going live: [1379 authors] [2942 Stories] [4535 Reviews] [29 reviewers]

Today’s reviews

  • Feed Them by RainbowBob
  • Entertain Them by PaulAsaran
  • Hunt Them by PaulAsaran

Feed Them by RainbowBob

Wow. That was dark. Got my interest though. No exposition at all, which I almost always enjoye. I’ll have to read the other stories in the series to see if they give more information about the disaster. Has a well realized crazy-in-denial version of Spike.

Entertain Them by PaulAsaran

Wow. This one managed to be even darker. I’m still curious about things and plan to keep reading. Though I suspect none of the stories will actually focus on or explain the disaster itself. MLP zombie apocolypse would be interesting done right. Especially with all the hints tossed out in these two stories so far. Like using magic is a horrible idea for some reason and not being out after dark. Might even be something other than zombies involved. As effective as it has been, I do hope that the next story gives us something new. Two stories about crazy-in-denial is starting to wear out the idea’s welcome.

Hunt Them by PaulAsaran

Dark in a different way. Much more typical survivors of a zombie apocalypse story. Still more interesting tidbits. Thought, this is the first one that I wish I had been reading about the disaster directly instead of wandering through the aftermath. The backstory seemed really interesting and would make a great disaster story.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on November 24, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

7 responses to “Pony Stories 280

  1. Present Perfect

    November 24, 2014 at 10:05 am

    1484? D: This is an outrage! Ignore the fact that my spreadsheet is piecemeal and haphazard as I have continually added in old reviews and had to adjust the count manually.

     
  2. Present Perfect

    November 24, 2014 at 10:07 am

    Man, and after running some math on my spreadsheet, I get 1542 total. c.c wtf

    At least I know neither of us knows what’s going on.

     
    • Griffin

      November 24, 2014 at 10:17 am

      Well, some of that is because you keep reviewing parts of short story collections as individual stories. Grrr.

      Might have to go through your spreadsheet again and see if I missed anything.

       
  3. PaulAsaran

    November 24, 2014 at 12:09 pm

    Wasn’t expecting this. I’m rather pleased, as I’m sure Bob will be. You’ll be interested to know that there are four more stories coming and, yes, the beginning (and end) of the apocalypse will eventually be detailed.

     
    • Griffin

      November 24, 2014 at 1:44 pm

      Yeah, waiting for the other stories. Remember reading about the arrangement with them a while back. Which was what got me interested in reading them in the first place.

       
      • PaulAsaran

        November 24, 2014 at 2:19 pm

        Eh, you’ll be waiting for a bit. Bob’s backed out in light of his recent accident and given me the reigns of the entire AU, but I’ve got three ongoing projects that I’m hesitant to delay. The Them-verse is still a high priority, though.

         
      • Griffin

        November 24, 2014 at 4:12 pm

        Yeah, that’s what I meant. The blogpost saying you were taking over. I figured it would be a while. Not like I don’t have plenty of horsewords to keep me busy while waiting. Or this stupid-huge spreadsheet of horsewordwords.

         

Leave a Reply

