RSS

Pony Stories 287

01 Dec

The official ‘new reviewer’ post for the group will be going up in a couple of days, but I have added (or will have added once done) over 100 new review links to the big master review list. Almost all of them completely new stories. In honor of the fairly large in-progress additions to the big master review list, I encourage the other reviewers out there to find a story on the list that only has one review and read it. Extra points if you pick an author you’ve never read anything from. Bonus points if it is a story off your to-read list so you can get that one title shorter. I might recommend something by Viking ZX. I’d suggest The Dusk Guard: Rise, but that’s a pretty long story, 0.44 Fallout Equestrias in fact. For something a little more holiday themed, you could try Hearth’s Warming Cookies. It uses characters from Dusk Guard, but if I remember correctly it stands on it’s own fairly well.

Bleh, I’ve forgotten how mind-numbing it is to add dozens and dozens of stories to the list when putting a new reviewer in. Doesn’t help that I’m having to do them one at a time since they are all forum posts in the group. Which is certainly an argument against having groups on the list. Plus I have to do each one twice, one for the list and the other for the new reviewer post where I lay out all the stuff they’ve done so far.

Big Master Review List stats: Total Authors: [1461], Total Stories [3120], Total Reviews: [4797].

Stories covered today:

  • I’ll Be Waiting by TheWriter7
  • One Last Letter by jdb1984
  • The Final Quest of Star Swirl the Bearded by JohnPerry

I’ll Be Waiting by TheWriter7

Huh. Was in a depressed mood so I figured I’d read something sad that might be depressing, but hopeful. Nope. Even in my semi-complimentary emotional state this seemed simplistic. Needed more depth, more build-up and longer trail-off at the end. Functionally written, but too short and too simple/shallow. Plus Spike is kind of a idiot.

One Last Letter by jdb1984

One from the middle of the sort-by-ratings list. Not great, but certainly better than the one from the bottom of that list for sure. This has somewhat bad writing, but the emotions and sincerity come through despite it. Really, the main problem is lack of originality, and even then it’s not entirely just cliches. I’m not sure I would recommend this one, but I would encourage the author to keep writing and practicing.

The Final Quest of Star Swirl the Bearded by JohnPerry

A wise wizard gathers a group of tough soldier-types and one simple farmer-type to go defeat a dragon who had taken a mountain from them a generation or so ago. The trip takes them through a murky forest where they have an encounter with strange insect creatures. Seems a bit familiar for some reason. Maybe I’m just imagining it.

This story was functional but not inspiring. The writing was decent to good for the whole thing. However, I never lost myself in the story. No immersion in it at all. There was not really anything I’d call cliche, but lack of originality was the story’s biggest flaw. It was boiler-play fantasy with nothing rising up above the baseline to grab a reader’s attention. By my usual rule of thumb for this sort of thing, i.e. how much rewriting would it take to take the pony elements out of the story, this one has barely any pony in it. In fact, the connections with the source material are so constant, yet so flimsy that it would probably be better as straight up original fiction. Then all the reminders of stuff that we knew about off-screen could become menacing unknowns rather than barely mentioned certainties that we know don’t really have anything to do with the story. If you really like The Hobbit you should give this a show. It’s basically hobbit-lite with pony stuff swapped in some places.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 1, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

5 responses to “Pony Stories 287

  1. Present Perfect

    December 1, 2014 at 9:34 am

    I’d take you up on that challenge if I hadn’t suddenly exploded in reading projects. c.c

     
  2. Viking ZX

    December 1, 2014 at 2:21 pm

    Thanks for the recommendation! šŸ™‚

     
  3. Logan

    December 2, 2014 at 6:54 pm

    I encourage the other reviewers out there to find a story on the list that only has one review and read it.

    I have several of those on my RiL list now, so it’s quite likely! Though I do still want to make reviewing never-reviewed stories a significant part of my output, since I know from experience that it’s nice to get some attention for a fic you thought had been totally ignored. šŸ™‚

     
  4. jdb1984

    December 4, 2014 at 1:43 pm

    I’m the one that wrote One Last Letter, and I’ll admit that it wasn’t my best work. If you want to see something by me that is a lot better (and has at least some originality), I would recommend Thine Own Self or The Immortal Question, though both are unfinished

     
    • Griffin

      December 4, 2014 at 2:17 pm

      Cool. I’ll certainly put it on my to-read list. I tend to focus on completed stories. Though one or two of your others looks neat as well.

       

Leave a Reply

