RSS

Pony Stories 288

04 Dec

Didn’t I, long ago, post my own reviews around here? It seems like some kind of fading dream. The long ago before time. Before I spent what seems like forever, but was actually like four or five days, adding reviews to the big master list from new sources. Learning how annoying going through forums for reviews can be. Which brings us to the ever popular question time! For you authors out there, would you like me to keep hunting down reviews? As I mentioned the list is getting a little large on the right/left axis. Will probably end up making a ‘misc’ column for the review sources that only have a small amount of reviews. Mostly I’m a little burned out from overloading myself and I plan to take a break and just update it from the sources I already have on there while I think things over. So like I mentioned, figured I would ask for input. Would you authors like to see more reviews of your stories? I’m sure if I keep adding sources I’ll find at least one review of your stuff, maybe one you haven’t run into yourself.

On the plus side, having the public bookshelf for the big master review list has been good advertising. It automatically lets all 1500 authors know about it existing. The best kind of marketing, effective and completely side-steps my social phobia about pushing myself on people.

Big Master Review List stats: Total Authors: [1502], Total Stories [3222], Total Reviews: [4937],

Stories I cover today:

  • Nothing Gold Can Stay by TheOnly
  • Guide Them by PaulAsaran
  • The Story Of FillyMena (1/2) by AlexTheBrony

Nothing Gold Can Stay by TheOnly

Huh. Most of the story is a halfway decent sad story. Writing is rough, but in a doesn’t quite flow way rather than poor technical work. Nice and vague about what is going on. Then the very last bit is just some random internet meme that ruins whatever emotional impact had been built up. So I think I’ll call this another bit of collateral damage from not remembering why I put something on my to-read list and going into it blind.

Guide Them by PaulAsaran

Yep, still dark as heck. I’m starting to hope that at least one of these stories has at least a neutral ending. A hopeful ending to one would be even better, but at the moment it’s just darkness and more dark. Well written though and plenty of interesting bits. Didn’t feel cliche even though most of it was fairly standard zombie apocalypse stuff. Pair of survivors, crazy cult, nothing that hasn’t been done before. Yet it manages to be at least interesting if not fresh and original. Still looking forward to the other stories whenever they come out in the future.

The Story Of FillyMena (1/2) by AlexTheBrony

Welp. This is now the new holder of a specific title. That title is ‘worst fanfic I have read’. I try to be nice to stories I read, but… This is basically a how-to guide on how to write badly. Once again proving that the sort-by-ratings feature is protecting us from some really bad writing.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 4, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

3 responses to “Pony Stories 288

  1. Present Perfect

    December 4, 2014 at 10:12 am

    Nothing Gold Can Stay is a trollfic. :B The buildup is kind of cheesy, any other ending would just have been bad. I guess you got trolled? :O

     
    • Griffin

      December 5, 2014 at 9:17 pm

      Yeah, pretty much.

       
  2. Logan

    December 4, 2014 at 9:41 pm

    Would you authors like to see more reviews of your stories?

    I always like to see reviews of my stories… but then I also always like to see you review other people’s stories. So it’s win-win for me!

     

Leave a Reply

