RSS

Pony Stories 289

05 Dec

Well, my confidence in the completeness of the big master review list has dropped from it’s previous high of 95% (for the reviewers I am keeping track of) all the way down to I’m kind of dumb percent. Apparently, even though I swear I went through his stuff with a fine tooth comb, I somehow managed to completely miss like half of the reviews over on One Man’s Pony Ramblings. Nearly half! Some of which are stories that I’ve read and put on the list because of seeing the reviews he did for the stories on his blog. Ugh. So I’ve been fixing that. Once again running into the links to stories that aren’t on FimFiction, which is always a bit disorienting. Like ‘wait, pony fan fiction out in the wild? weird!’ sort of thing.

Big Master Review List stats: Total Authors: [1514], Total Stories [3253], Total Reviews: [4999], Almost 5000 reviews total on the list! I wonder what I should do for the 5000th one. Wouldn’t it be amazing if it was a big round number for one of the reviewers? What a coincidence. No, wait, the other thing.

Stories I cover below the break, all of which are from the least viewed end of my to-read list:

  • Running Late in Manehatten by Autumnschild
  • FO:E: The Warm Place by Cola_Bubble_Gum
  • The Baltimare Chase by DegeTheMighty

Running Late in Manehatten by Autumnschild

Pretty good. Nice and simple, but sweet. Doesn’t over explain or drag on too much. Certainly deserves a few more views than it has gotten.

FO:E: The Warm Place by Cola_Bubble_Gum

I think I need to go find a more happy story. Been reading some dark stuff lately. Well, not exclusively. Just seems that way. Anyway, this is a pretty good FO:E short story. Hits all the right points in a stable that went wrong semi-soon after it was sealed up. The main character having survived the war. So if you really like FO:E, or you like fairly dark/depressing stories, give it a try. If not, well, you probably shouldn’t.

The Baltimare Chase by DegeTheMighty

Not sure how I feel about this one. Needs a proofreader. Some nice turns of phrase. The use of blink/blinked to indicate teleporting really helped the flow of the piece. Plus a nice mix of physical chasing and magic use. A more polished version of this would be pretty neat. Wish I had some context though. Slight Spoiler: The one plothole about the EG movies where Sunset Shimmer was Celestia’s personal student is how/if it overlapped with Twilight being her personal student. Because they are at least close to the same age. Was Shimmer just grabbed real early and rebelled young? Likewise, why would Shining Armor be the one chasing her in this story?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 5, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

4 responses to “Pony Stories 289

  1. Chris

    December 5, 2014 at 4:30 pm

    Sorry I shot your confidence! For what it’s worth, I don’t think the value of the super-list is diminished by the fact that it’s missing some of my reviews; it’s still an excellent source for finding people’s opinions on stories.

     
    • Griffin

      December 5, 2014 at 9:37 pm

      It’s not so much that it’s missing some of your reviews. It’s that I swear I went through your complied lists like twice to make sure I go everything. Apparently I either imagined it, or completely missed like 70% of your six star story reviews.

       
  2. Present Perfect

    December 5, 2014 at 6:27 pm

    Sorry, writeoff. D:

     
    • Griffin

      December 5, 2014 at 9:38 pm

      You have to post your 1000 review eventually! I can be patient.

       

Leave a Reply

