RSS

Pony Stories 299

16 Dec

Holy heck! Had 11 people peeking at the big master review list at the same time yesterday. Guess 5:23 is when everyone comes online and checks their notifications or something. Then, five minutes later they all leave at once. Was there a class trip to my spreadsheet, or what? Then again, maybe that sort of thing happens all the time and I just miss it. Probably spent the longest stretch of time to date working on the big master review list yesterday. Think I’ve finally put all of One Man’s Pony Ramblings up. I’m, say, 80% sure of it this time. Confident I’ve got everything on FimFiction that he’s reviewed anyway. I think for the older stuff I’ll just rely on people spotting the stuff I missed and tell me about it.

Big master review list trivia once again. I often search for stories with longer titles with a single word or two. Sometimes I run across amusing things like how often a word shows up, or how few times a word shows up. This one made me chuckle. The phrase ‘every mare’ shows up in two titles. Every Mare Needs Her Stallion by InquisitorM, and… Commander Hurricane Fucks Every Mare In Cloudsdale by Cloud Hop. I’m not sure what spectrum that defines, but they are most certainly on the opposite ends of it.

Big Master Review List stats: Total Authors: [1580], Total Stories [3417], Total Reviews: [5267]

Stories covered below the break:

  • Leaving the Ground Behind by q97randomguy
  • Rarity’s Game of Cat and Mouse by TheOldPonyFromScene24
  • An Old Guardspony’s Last Duty by BuffaloBrony

Leaving the Ground Behind by q97randomguy

This is a functional ponyfic. Not very evocative, but the viewpoint character is written decent. Just kind of a rambling internal monologue with no real point. With more build-up to get to know the character it might be more moving. More context to compare him with a ‘standard’ pegasus would make it an interesting look at how a pony’s life shapes their viewpoint. This doesn’t manage either and just kind of sits on the page.

Rarity’s Game of Cat and Mouse by TheOldPonyFromScene24

Some nice fun Rarity & Applejack shipping. One of my favorite pairings in fact. Just so much fun you can have with it. This story has both Rarity and Applejack written wonderfully, though due to the format we get more of Rarity than the apple farmer. This wasn’t a timeless piece for the ages, but I’d recommend it.

An Old Guardspony’s Last Duty by BuffaloBrony

Pretty good, for what it is. Nothing compared to, say, A Cup Of Joe, but I’d put it just a notch or two below that for a fanfic about military duty and memory. Also not nearly as emotion-twisting either. This has a much more… even tone to it. Just an old soldier talking to a new soldier at a party. Recommended if you like that sort of thing. I enjoyed it quite a bit.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on December 16, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

7 responses to “Pony Stories 299

  1. Present Perfect

    December 16, 2014 at 10:10 am

    Was there a class trip to my spreadsheet, or what?

    >tfw

     
  2. Aragón

    December 16, 2014 at 12:14 pm

    Well, I usually go to that spreadsheet whenever I get a notification, or whenever I go to my Drive and I don’t feel like writing. So, quite often. I’ve only seen you there once, tho.

    PP, on the other hand? I’ve seen him meddling with his spreadsheet a couple times, actually. Like, I could see how he wrote down the titles of the stories he’d reviewed. It was cute, and also somewhat creepy as hell. Mneh.

     
    • Aragón

      December 16, 2014 at 12:15 pm

      Also, I was thinking about this the other day — Twilight’s Library reviews stories too, right? They’re not on the spreadsheet.

       
      • Griffin

        December 16, 2014 at 12:29 pm

        No they are not. One, I’m still iffy about adding groups and it looks like they put all of their reviews in a single forum post which will make linking to each individual one annoying. Two, I’m not exactly eager to dive in and double the size of the list all in one go. Twilight’s library has more stories in it’s folders than the list contains at the moment. At the moment I think that wanders dangerously close to too much work for a non-paying hobby territory.

         
    • Present Perfect

      December 16, 2014 at 8:12 pm

      Someone else is always in my spreadsheet. D: Does someone just leave it open all the time or what? IS IT YOU?

       
      • Griffin

        December 16, 2014 at 10:35 pm

        Have you tried turning your spreadsheet off and on again? That fixes most problems with computer stuff.

         
  3. Logan

    December 16, 2014 at 1:30 pm

    I think the busiest I’ve seen that spreadsheet is three people plus you, so 11 is quite something! I spend more time than I ought to there, really, just poking around to see whether anything catches my eye for future reviewing, or wondering why some story I’ve never heard of has seven reviews, or… you get the idea. 😛

     

Leave a Reply

