RSS

Pony Stories 306

25 Dec

Hopefully when you read this I’ll be off enjoying a holiday with family. Or, given the time difference, sleeping and/or getting ready to go out for enjoying holiday with family. However, that’s future-me. Present-me is gonna give my thoughts on FimFiction’s new bannerless look. I do enjoy the author banner across the top when you are in blogs and stories. I think that’s a good change. However, I don’t like how it makes the main page look. I liked the bit of art, and I don’t like how it pushes the popular stories box right to where my eyes are usually resting. Wish the site had kept the art banner for the main page at least. Or maybe put in your own author banner when just browsing.

Stories covered today:

  • Rough in the Diamond by Sharp Spark
  • Forgive by NotARealPonydotcom
  • A Lot to Think About by chronicLurker

Rough in the Diamond by Sharp Spark

Pretty cool story. I’ve got a bit of an immersion problem with believing that sort of thing would be allowed in Canterlot, but on the other hand I don’t have much trouble believing Rarity would enjoy that sort of thing. Kicked a manticore in the face after all.

Forgive by NotARealPonydotcom

Nice typical slice of life story. Pretty much just an argument between the married couple of Rarity and an older Spike. Not really much else to say about it. Was enjoyable, but nothing is really going to stick in my head when I move on to the next story I read.

A Lot to Think About by chronicLurker

Huh. Another fanfic that shows just how little it takes to push the events of some of the episodes into darker areas. This is mostly focused on Princess Celestia and could be just a aftereffects story about the wedding, but one or two hints during the story and at the very end reveals it’s actually set in a AU where the events of the wedding happened slightly differently. I enjoyed reading it, but I did find myself flipping back and forth between bits of the story to confirm I had read something right.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 25, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

3 responses to “Pony Stories 306

  1. Present Perfect

    December 25, 2014 at 8:45 pm

    See, that’s exactly my feeling on Rough in the Diamond, and why I liked it. đŸ˜€

     
    • Griffin

      December 27, 2014 at 3:10 pm

      Oh, I enjoyed it quite a bit myself.

       
  2. iisawiisaw

    December 25, 2014 at 10:50 pm

    Rough in the Diamond was really fun! Thanks for the rec.

     

Leave a Reply

