RSS

Pony Stories 308

27 Dec

Ah ha! I just remembered what I was going to write in one of these at the beginning of me preparing and scheduling the posts for my vacation. I’ve been re-reading a few stories from a series I liked and now have to add it to the pile of mainstream fiction that ponyfic has ruined for me. So much exposition and setup. Just get to the good parts! Doesn’t help that the author is one that did a bit too much exposition for my tastes even when I was first reading them. You’d think that by book 15 of a series he’d start assuming the readers knew some of the basic stuff. Nope. At least he stopped putting in the explanation of his FTL travel in every single book. Of course, he only stopped that like around book 8 or 9.

Stories reviewed after the break:

  • Sprinkles by Corejo
  • I Missed You by LightningBass94
  • Drinking Alone, Except with Two by AcreuBall

Sprinkles by Corejo

Going to another comedy right after the previous story might not have been a good idea. This still made me chuckle and I enjoyed it, but I suspect I would have enjoyed it even more if not for the comparison with the last story I read. Simple, but comedic. Nothing surprising. Just Twilight trying to cook and messing up by being too precise and pedantic.

I Missed You by LightningBass94

Sweet moment of Rainbow Dash and Twilight sparkle shipping. Another one that feels like a small scene of a larger story. Though it doesn’t feel incomplete like a lot I make that comment about. This one simply managed to imply a context going both forward and backward from the scene on the page.

Drinking Alone, Except with Two by AcreuBall

I liked it. A little contrived and/or melodramatic in some places. Can’t really avoid that when the story is basically just a conversation and one pony involved is Rarity I guess. A pretty good setup for Spike and Rarity starting a relationship, so if you are on the fence about that particular pairing you might give this a shot. If you strongly dislike that pairing this story probably won’t change your mind.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 27, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

3 responses to “Pony Stories 308

  1. Present Perfect

    December 27, 2014 at 6:03 pm

    “If you strongly dislike that pairing this story probably won’t change your mind.”

    IT WON’T

     
  2. Loganberry

    December 30, 2014 at 4:49 pm

    I’m rather fond of “Sprinkles”. Simple and heartwarming, and I like it considerably more than Corejo’s more famous “Reading Rainbow”.

     
    • Griffin

      December 30, 2014 at 6:40 pm

      Yeah, Sprinkles is a better story than the other one.

       

Leave a Reply

