RSS

Pony Stories 28 (309)

28 Dec

Last day of the holiday trip. Hopefully things are fine and I haven’t missed talking about the alien invasion here on the blog while I’ve been away from my computer. So, assuming we haven’t found a new life in the off-world colonies, you get to hear my ramblings about a thought I had a week ago. Or just skip down to the reviews below. Anyway. I realized something a few days ago. As of writing this, since a few days ago from posting this I’ll have been away from my computer for a while. But I digress. I’ve always believe that online friendships and socializing whereas not the same thing, are at least as good as in-person relationships. At least in the non-physical aspects. But the ephemeral-ness of it has bothered me for a while. Data working against my beliefs, as it were. I just realized why it’s the case though. If I interact with someone at, say, school or work and we drift apart or whatever. I still have to interact with them at least in a polite passing-in-the-hallway fashion. Online this is not the case. If I drift apart from, say, pony reviews and stop doing this blog and don’t go to FimFiction anymore, all you people just poof. Didn’t really have any deep insight or anything. Just gotta fill up the intro space and it was a realization I had a while back.

Tomorrow should be back to normal. Which means adding all the reviews popping up while I was away to the big master review list.

Stories covered below the break:

  • Through Glass by Titanium Dragon
  • A Moment in the Sunlight by ArcheonZ
  • Diary of the Stalked by The Lunar Samurai

Through Glass by Titanium Dragon

This one was simple, but nice and sweet. Plus it’s got one of my favorite pony pairings in it near the end. I must admit I didn’t get who Rarity was talking to until the very end, even with one big hint near the beginning. I tend to not notice that sort of thing though. Mostly I just go along with the ride when reading a story.

A Moment in the Sunlight by ArcheonZ

This one was both funny and sweet. I liked it quite a bit. Always a joy to see a nice slice-of-life moment involving Celestia as a ruler. Plus the image of her making faces in court is hilarious. Plus the secretary pegasus that was trying to deal with the meeting while Celestia was making trouble was pretty much perfect for a offical in Celestia’s goverment. At least in my opinion. I’d recommend this one highly.

Diary of the Stalked by The Lunar Samurai

Hmm… I usually like stories that consist of journal entries. This one just didn’t catch my interest. Should have been stretched over a longer period of time. I mean, an explorer going into Everfree forest only taking four days worth of food? Plus some clue as to whether or not it was insanity or an actual watching force would have been nice. The author isn’t quite good enough to make what does happen really immersive as you need to do for a story like this to support itself as a lost work mystery. At no point did I really feel like the journal had been written about an actual pony. No immersion whatsoever. Still, the writing isn’t bad. Just a bit on the average/mediocre side of things. I will say, now that I’ve checked the story page while typing this up, that whatever my quibbles with this story, it certainly deserves more views and attention than it’s gotten so far.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 28, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

3 responses to “Pony Stories 28 (309)

  1. xjuggernaughtx

    December 28, 2014 at 1:05 pm

    Wait. Why is this Pony Stories 28? Have I gone back in time? Temporal chaos! I just talked to PresentPerfect and he’s going on and on about the beauty that is Rarity/Spike shipping! Realities are fraying!

     
    • Present Perfect

      December 28, 2014 at 8:32 pm

      It’s best when they have little kirin babbies errywhere 😀 <3<3<3

       
    • Griffin

      December 28, 2014 at 11:10 pm

      Ha! Wow, I have no idea how that happened. Guess I wasn’t really paying attention when I was writing up that one. Probably crossed wires with something involving the list and older posts or something.

       

Leave a Reply

