RSS

Pony Stories 310

29 Dec

Well, back now. But pretty trashed so today just another blah one. At least I double checked the title this time. So there shouldn’t be any further destruction of the time-space continuum. At least not because of the blog. Tomorrow the long slog through everything I missed. Including the 59 notifications I’ve got over on FimFiction. Wonder if I’ll get caught up on the big master review list before the turning of the year.

Story reviews below the break:

  • Tethered by shortskirtsandexplosions
  • Plot Twist by Armalite
  • Never Truly Apart by Aurora Aura
  • Two Weeks by NotARealPonydotcom

Tethered by shortskirtsandexplosions

That was dark. Both the actual story and the implications of the situation it shows. Not the darkest story the author has ever put out (that would be The Face Takers in my opinion), but pretty dang close to it.

Plot Twist by Armalite

Meh. The comedy just failed for me. It seems to have tried for a build-up for a single thing, then the humorous twist to something else at the end. It really just falls flat and doesn’t work.

Never Truly Apart by Aurora Aura

Eh, a somewhat bland execution of a decent idea. I’ve seen it done better elsewhere though. Most precisely, I’ve read Refraction by shortskirtsandexplosions.

Two Weeks by NotARealPonydotcom

This wasn’t as bad as I feared, but not quite as good as I hoped. In kind of a mirror fashion. First off, not nearly as cliche as I thought it would be. Not exactly bursting with originality, but it had a sincerity and actual emotional depth that I wasn’t expecting. Though I must admit I had somewhat low expectations for that. Seeing something in the feature box a few times and with a mirror-universe plot gets me a bit biased. On the other hand, the writing had lots of problems. Dragon spelled as dragin a lot. At least one, and I think a few more, times where the story contradicted itself or simply had continunity errors. Oh, and had some really long paragraphs. It read like it didn’t get a editing pass. Though the writing does get better by the end. A semi-typical example of the author learning to write during the story, or so I’d guess. Involves an older spike and treatment of him during his life that doesn’t really show up in the source material, but makes sense. I do wish that it had something of an epilogue. The ending was nicely timed and all, but I always like to see the outcomes of things. Even just a ‘five years later’ would have been cool. Which I suppose is the best compliment a story can get. That when it’s over I not only feel the characters keep going, but I’m invested enough in them to want to see the story continue as well.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 29, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

Leave a Reply

