RSS

Pony Stories 316

04 Jan

This is a test. Writing this post up using my fancy new mini-tablet. Which I got out of mind crushing boredom during my holiday trip when I had run out of reading !material, had run out of ideas to write, and no transportation from the hotel. Oh, and no pay-per-view movies or anything at the hotel.

Anyway, I’ve enjoyed the gizmo quite a bit. Typing on the had been surprisingly easy and fun. It’s only four or so inches across, so the onscreen keyboard is small enough that I use one hand and it’s really smooth and easy. Doesn’t have access to all the bells and whistles of doing it on the site itself. Doing the links is a pain. Would be a good way to do the intro bits though.

Stories covered below the break:
-Teacher’s Pet by Pascoite
-My Ponyville by Earl Grey
– Insomnia by Pale Horse


Teacher’s Pet by Pascoite

That didn’t go where I suspected. Good story though. Actually got an emotional reaction out of me when I realized what was going on. Just a touch of sad.

My Ponyville by Earl Grey

Just another day in the small town of Ponyville. The ex-mayor getting recruited by a secret resistance group to defeat a swarm of invisible mind-controlling bugs. I wish this could be an episode. Maybe a two-parter about the mayoral election.

Insomnia by Pale Horse

A character study of Princess Celestia that manages to hit all the right notes. A few writing errors, but on the whole I can easily see this as something Princess Celestia actually wrote. I’d recommend this to anyone who likes to read Celestia stories, or even anyone who just pikes character studies

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 4, 2015 in Ponies, Reading 2015, Reviews

 

3 responses to “Pony Stories 316

  1. iisawiisaw

    January 4, 2015 at 2:45 pm

    Insomnia was a good read. It did what most satisfying bits of fic do: It made me want to write!

    What brand/model of mini-tablet did you get? I love my Kindle Fire, but it’s getting pretty old and I’m thinking of getting a replacement.

     
    • Griffin

      January 4, 2015 at 2:55 pm

      Hisenese Sero 8? Something like that. I’m liking it more and more as i get used to it. It has actually been really helpful for reading ponyfic and then writing reviews. Getting up to find paper after finishing a story has always been a flow breaker. Now I just switch over to the google docs app and write my thoughts up right after finishing the ebook. I like thus minitablet because it has a lot of functionality I am liking, but isn’t big enough to use as a internet browser or play games on so it avoids being a time waster that way. I am kind of particular about screen size.

       
      • iisawiisaw

        January 4, 2015 at 9:38 pm

        Great! I’ll certainly consider it.

         

Leave a Reply

