RSS

Pony Stories 324

21 Jan

Another flood of short reviews. Trying to wade through the backlog. The first two are even brand new stories. Got Apple Shampoo because, well, how could I resist a story with a premise based on a random scent/soap merchandise choice? The second one, Dream of the Doughnut Fiend, caught my eye on the new releases list and I decided to give it a try. Gotta give those new stories and/or authors a chance to impress after all.

Stories below the break:

  • Apple Shampoo by Titanium Dragon
  • Dream of the Doughnut Fiend by aeppel
  • The Assumption of Applejack -or- Appletheosis by Blue Print
  • Vinyl and Octavia Machete Their Way Through The Jungle by DoctorSpectrum
  • Little Magnets by alexmagnet
  • The Death of Daring Do: The Engine of Eternity by DuncanR
  • The Sky Is Falling by Mr Maximus
  • Changeling by CCC
  • The Definition of Words by The Princess Rarity

Apple Shampoo by Titanium Dragon

Hee. Enjoyable little piece. Pretty much what you’d expect from a quick little comedy based on a funny little coincidence. Well written, but really just a fluffy comedy.

Dream of the Doughnut Fiend by aeppel

That was odd. One of those stories where the pieces are interesting and well written, but don’t really fit together. The first bit is a wonderful slice of life I’d love to read more of. The second part is kind of weird, but could have been interesting. Then the third bit just gets all mind screwy and I’m not sure what the author was trying to do. On the other hand I found the writing to be good, so I’ll have to check to see if the author has anything longer and/or more coherent to read. So I’d recommend the author, but maybe not this particular story?

The Assumption of Applejack -or- Appletheosis by Blue Print

I liked this one quite a bit. A pretty good look at how Applejack would react to becoming an alicorn. Which, according to this story just kind of happens for no particular reason sometimes. Had some good worldbuilding and revamps the founding of Equestria a bit as many stories do. All in all a good story and I’m looking forward to the sequel.

Vinyl and Octavia Machete Their Way Through The Jungle by DoctorSpectrum

Another story that isn’t bad. Just bland and a bit generic. The two ponies are their default fandom personalities with any real complexity or depth. Plus Vinyl is basically just a self-centered jerk. Even undead showing up wasn’t enough to keep my interest. Gave up about 30% in.

Ponies Protecting Ponies by Venates

Not bad. Prose is a little dry and the characters aren’t exactly nuanced, but not to a deal breaking degree. My main problem I’d that it does what I consider a bad thing for a fanfic that runs alongside the show. It completely negates the source material. In this case we find out that the Elements of Harmony are fake and Nightmare Moon was actually purified by a machine that a secret agent built and fired from nearby during the final confrontation. Given the premise I was expecting some behind the scenes interference, but not to that degree. I was even thinking it might turn out that the secret agents were the reason the mane six ran into fairly tame challenges in the forest. So, take the not recommended with a grain is salt for my personal dislike of that specific bit. The premise is neat and the writing wasn’t bad.

Little Magnets by alexmagnet

A collection of shorts. All of them were good, each one doing a great job of evoking an emotion. Well, most of them anyway. None of them were a complete story. I think I need to read more by this author. I’d certainly recommend this to anyone looking for a well written diversion.

The Death of Daring Do: The Engine of Eternity by DuncanR

Do you like Rainbow Dash? Do you like the Indiana Jones movies? Then you’ll probably like this story. It is both a good adventure story and has good character moments. Has little of the pony world in it, but plenty of the feel of it. Plus I liked the crystal empire stuff at the beginning. The author’s notes at the end reveal that there was a whole lot of research and effort put in to it, but I do recommend reading the story first. Oh, and the very last bonus chapter was fun as heck.

The Sky Is Falling by Mr Maximus

I stopped at the two-thirds mark on this one. Almost decided to push through, but then I realized I don’t actually care what happens at the end. It was just really dull. I mean I like the romance pair of Twilight and Rainbow, but I spent most of this story just kinda being bored. It didn’t manage to get me invested in the characters at all. Was kind of weird since they were characterized decently. I guess it was mostly just enough to identify each character as themselves and expecting the reader to already know and care about them. Plus the attraction on Rainbows part just kind of happens. Its gradual, but nothing really triggers it starting or getting deeper.

Changeling by CCC

Fun little piece. One of those stories that starts out with a silly, but somewhat silly idea and just keeps getting more and more silly and ridiculous until it is completely absurd. I liked it a lot. Punchline was amusing as well even seeing it coming.

The Definition of Words by The Princess Rarity

Eh, that was a prime example of a story that yanked on heartstrings just to make the reader sad. No real context, just a very brief buildup, then bam be sad now. One cool little character building element that could be a fyn basis for a story, but its pretty much used as a throwaway detail.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 21, 2015 in Ponies, Reading 2015

 

3 responses to “Pony Stories 324

  1. Titanium Dragon

    January 21, 2015 at 9:37 pm

    Thanks for the review! I’m glad you enjoyed the story. 🙂

     
  2. Professor Whooves

    January 24, 2015 at 3:08 am

    I liked “The Sky Is Falling”. I agree that the plot wasn’t great, but the writing was entertaining:

    “My friends want my company, and I’m going to give it to them all night long!”
    “The princesses had to come bail her out, and she still won’t tell us how she ended up in there. So yeah, we try to keep Fluttershy sober.”
    “‘Do you know why I am princess of the night?’ ‘Uh… because the daytime was taken?'”
    “Most ponies would assume she smells like lavender, because she’s a similar color, but I think that’s racist.”

     
    • Griffin

      January 24, 2015 at 9:58 am

      It did have some good lines, true.

       

Leave a Reply

