RSS

Pony Stories 333

03 Feb

And somewhere in the depths of hell, Ralph doesn’t give a fuck. Which is the only RPG related content you are getting from me today. Throwing my vague schedule out the window today, just going to do another bunch of reviews. Because, woo, I can see the bottom of my backed up reviews list. Don’t have any gaming content ready, though I do have one or two ideas that I’ll work on for next week. Thinking about how to adapt my Broken Gods class concepts to 5E D&D. At least one will be a pretty easy hack.

Completely unrelated, I got a question for you people who do Write-Off.. I was going to try and write something for this recent one, but just couldn’t find any good ideas. Until about two hours after the submission deadline passed when I got a great idea. Is that normal?

Reviews after the break:

  1. Twilight Attends Parliament by Anonymoose
  2. The Challenge of Fleur by PaulAsaran
  3. “Princest Is Wincest,” It Said. by cleverpun
  4. Between The Lines by Bad_Seed_72
  5. Parental Attachment by Pascoite
  6. Knowing Everything Hurts Your Brain by Princess Glitzy
  7. Little Apple by Oroboro
  8. 99 Problems, But A Bit Ain’t One by Akumokagetsu
  9. The Seamstress and the Arachnid. by Mr101
  10. Pick-Me-Up by Enter Madness

Twilight Attends Parliament by Anonymoose

Shallow and predictable, but I still enjoyed it for what it was. Plus the punchline out of nowhere at the last minute. Kind of ambivalent about whether or not this fic was a waste of time, which should tell you just how insubstantial it was. Still, if the premise made you laugh, give it a read.

The Challenge of Fleur by PaulAsaran

Hmm. Pretty good. Got a creepy vibe or two, though the story cheats a little. Princess Luna us convinced the danger is real, but the reader knows nothing about it. So the reader has to basically take her word for it. So, kind of a sticking point. Prevented it from being actually scary for me.

“Princest Is Wincest,” It Said. by cleverpun

Fun little story. A bit shallow. Basically the same message as Princess of books. Still, some good Celestia moments. Writing is a bit blunt on occasion, but matches my own style so I’ve got a soft spot for it.

Between The Lines by Bad_Seed_72

This story is a great example of how a single choice by the author nearly ruined for me regardless of the quality of the writing. Apple parents being dead is something of a accepted standard, but the way the author had them kick the bucket here was, well, contrary to my personal views on the matter. Really just feels like the author picked what they thought would have the most emotional impact regardless if it made sense for the family or not. Anyway, that’s a complaint about a tiny bit if the story. The rest of it is sweet and decent to good writing. No surprises, the reader gets the story of Twilight figuring out Big Mac can’t read and tries to help. Big Mac’s reasons for being stubborn about it don’t really stand up to any examination, but if you just I’ll with it there is as bit of impact to it.

Parental Attachment by Pascoite

That’s the second Scootaloo parent fanfic to baffle me. Where do you people get these ideas? Good writing, but kind of wanders around. Honestly not sure what else to say, except I certainly didn’t see the ending coming. Reminded me a bit of that one Invader Zim episode with the parents at school day. Recommended just for the bwah moment near the end with te reveal.

Knowing Everything Hurts Your Brain by Princess Glitzy

Reading this also hurts my brain. I was hoping for a fluffy take on the premise, some throwaway jokes, the usual cotton candy fic. What I got was a dialogue trainwreck. Literally couldn’t tell who was speaking at any given time because the author was putting other ponies actions after dialogue where the attribution is supposed to be. So you have:
“Actually, Pinkie, I want something for breakfast.” Pinkie looks at her in an odd way.
What’s wrong with cupcakes for breakfast?!” Twilight’s head starts hurting and she has a bad feeling in her stomach.
Twilight is saying the first one, Pinkie Pie the second. Guh!

Little Apple by Oroboro

Very sweet and enjoyable. An excellent Winoa perspective story. Not quite as good, but certainly deserves to be up with Sun Princess and Where the Heart Is.

99 Problems, But A Bit Ain’t One by Akumokagetsu

Fun story. Gambling addiction Celestia is subtle, but silly. The first bit doesn’t make much sense, but the punchline was great.

The Seamstress and the Arachnid. by Mr101

Eh, I was disappointed. Joke gets stretched on much too long and I eventually just gave up. Was expecting something much more over the top.

Pick-Me-Up by Enter Madness

Silly. A little rambly, but that’s not a horrible thing. Was going to say it would be even better animated, but then we would lose Twilight’s great internal monologue.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 3, 2015 in Ponies, Reading 2015, Reviews

 

5 responses to “Pony Stories 333

  1. Pascoite Fics

    February 3, 2015 at 5:49 pm

    Another satisfied customer! Yay!

    Yeah, that story was for no other reason than the weirdness factor. The whole thing started as a joke between me and GaPJaxie. It was a lot of fun to write, but nobody’s going to mistake it for a great story.

     
  2. Present Perfect

    February 3, 2015 at 7:48 pm

    “That’s the second Scootaloo parent fanfic to baffle me.”

    Mine was the first, right? 😀

     
    • Griffin

      February 3, 2015 at 10:25 pm

      Probably, I don’t remember specifics.

       
  3. Logan

    February 5, 2015 at 8:05 pm

    I don’t quite click with Little Apple — but then I only thought Sun Princess was good (rather than excellent) so maybe it’s just that I’m not a dog person!

     
    • Griffin

      February 5, 2015 at 9:28 pm

      I’m a cat person myself, but I do have a weakness for classic representations of animal points of view.

       

Leave a Reply

